We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was spotless!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“This place was spotless!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

There is a dearth of hotel rooms, and that seems to be the case in most college towns. That said, this HI Express is probably the cleanest I've stayed in. Yes, the furnishings are getting a bit tired, but the staff does a great job maintaining everything. Breakfast was typical of what you would find at similar properties, so no surprises there. All in all, this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write and share your comments. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from here, and we do everything we can to make our guests really happy with their decision to stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    62
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
81
37
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been a long time resident of this excellent facility with an their staff now every fall for the past four years on business. Great place to stay and look forward to it every year. Anything that we ever need is always at our fingertips and if its not the GM and his employees go above and beyond to accomodate us in every way, doing everything in their power to make us feel at home. Quiet, clean, friendly and great ammenities including access to the gym down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to write your very first TA review about your experiences here. We really do love making our guests feel comfortable during their stay with us, and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by members of our team. We look forward to continuing to meet your needs and exceed your expectations every time you return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lawrence is a town in desperate need of more and better hotel competition. For a college town, the selection of brands and their relative quality is pretty disappointing. That's good news for this hotel though, because it allows them to look pretty good in comparison.

The other reviews here pretty much say it all, but let me echo the highlights. I stayed three nights in this hotel on business. Let me hit the negatives first. The value for the price is not really what I expect. Yes the decor is a bit dated, the chair, office chair and couch could be newer and more comfortable, but that's not THAT big of a deal. The fitness center is a complete afterthought (two treadmills, one of which is broken, and a recumbent bike) in a room not even twice the size of the bathroom in your room. The pool is also a joke to those of us who swim as their primary means of working out, it's 24 feet long ... so figure about a 110 lap mile, maybe two strokes between turns ... too absurd to even try (however, there is a Lawrence Athletic Club on 6th with a really good, salt water filtered lap pool for $10/visit or $27/week ...staying at the Hampton on 6th gets you in there free ... if you can stomach the smoky smell in their halls and survive the lumpy beds). The breakfast selection is pretty pathetic (hot water and packet oatmeal, some bananas, a tray of scrambled eggs and some pre-packaged muffins).

So what about the good side? Well, also as noted in other reviews, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff was quick, courteous, helpful and very flexible in adjusting to my constantly changing business schedule (the question of when I was going to check out changed about 20 times during my stay, they adjusted politely and quickly). The Internet in the rooms is fast, reliable and consistent. For a little Holiday Inn Express, the TV selection was actually pretty good. The hotel is on the edge of town, but close a lot of decent food options (their room keys get you a free appetizer at the Longhorn up the street ... which was actually very good), there's a multiplex theater across the parking lot so you can walk over and take in a film. The rooms have a refrigerator and a microwave (I ended up needing and using both).

Will I stay there again? GOOD question, but actually I guess so yes. I can always go up the street a block and have breakfast at IHOP and workout at the aforementioned Lawrence Athletic Club. The bottom line is that where this hotel falls short in elegance, features or amenities, it exceeds expectations in friendliness, convenience for business people and little perks (like the free appetizer at Longhorn) ... but the truth is that it wouldn't take much to make me willing to try another spot ... if only there were something better (and in Lawrence there *should* be, but I haven't found it yet).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid comments about your many stays at our hotel. While we don't claim to be elegant, we do everything we can to meet the needs and exceed the expectations of our guests. We really appreciate your acknowledgement of jobs well done by the team here and hope we can continue to serve you whenever you visit Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My son goes to college there and we come to see him quite often and this is our place of choice love doing business with them. Will definitely stay there in our future visits like I said the staff was great housekeepers keep the rooms clean and tidy. So we will be seeing you on our next visit thanks everybody

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgw1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your many visits and nice comments. We are so lucky to have such a great university and all that brings to us, and it's important that we do everything we can to support the school and students whenever we can. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express a few times now, most recently this month. It's clean and quiet and the staff is friendly. I also like the location. It's on the edge of town when you're coming in on hwy. 59. It's located near restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: I haven't noticed a signifcant difference in the rooms I've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihearteureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your many stays and nice review. I'm glad you are happy with the service and accommodations we provide and look forward to the next time we can welcome you back and serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The place is clean and comfortable but it needs updating. First and foremost is the gym, or lack thereof. Essentially it is closet-size room off the pool area with two treadmills and a stationary bike. Granted, there is a trail right off the property that is great for running. But more space and some free weights in the gym would make it so much better. The pool is nice for taking a dip but too small to swim. Room service is good but my ice bucket was never cleaned or replaced and I had to go looking for drinking cups twice. As for positives, the breakfast is plentiful and varied enough, for a hotel of this category, with a very corteous attendant. Newspapers are available in the lobby and free (albeit slow) internet in the rooms. There is also a movie theater just behind the hotel, and stores and restaurants very close by for some entertainment and shopping. The KU campus is some five minutes away, making this a good choice for visiting parents or friends in town for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the road as it gets a little noisy with traffic early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I am sorry you were so disappointed with us during your recent visit, and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. I understand your comments about our exercise room and pool, and want you to know we can make other off site arrangements for you, if needed. There is no excuse for not having your ice bucket cleaned, or for having to look for cups, and will share your review with our housekeeping staff, so that other guests do not have a similar experience. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust the next time you are in Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stay at this hotel everytime we visit family in Lawrence, which is at least 4 times a year. It is in need of a little updating, but is typically clean and the staff are always very friendlly. Lawrence tends to be a bit more expensive and this hotel is no exception. Breakfast is a nice assortment of choices from bagels to eggs to fruit and meat. I'd like to see them update the baths and cooling/heating systems, but overall this is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Always request a room away from an elevator, as this college town hotel has lots of late night comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLN327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your many visits and for taking the time to share your comments. We have an ongoing replacement program for our in room air conditioners, and hope you will be happy with the system you have the next time you stay with us. Please let us know how we can make your stay more comfortable the next time you are in Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
395 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
362 reviews
3.4 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
170 reviews
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lawrence

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Address: 3411 S Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites takes pride in its clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Our hotel is the place to stay in Lawrence, Kansas.Our hotel is only 5 minutes from the University of Kansas , Rock Chalk Park and the Soccer and Softball Fields, Lied Center, Dole Institute of Politics, Haskell University, Alvamar Golf Course, and the historic downtown of Lawrence, Kansas. The hotel offers complimentary high speed Internet and a meeting facility that accommodates 50 to 80 people depending on set-up.Must be 21 and have a valid credit card to rent a room. We are sorry but we are no longer allow pets. We are a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Holiday Inn Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing