We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stay at this hotel everytime we visit family in Lawrence, which is at least 4 times a year. It is in need of a little updating, but is typically clean and the staff are always very friendlly. Lawrence tends to be a bit more expensive and this hotel is no exception. Breakfast is a nice assortment of choices from bagels to eggs to fruit and meat. I'd like to see them update the baths and cooling/heating systems, but overall this is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Always request a room away from an elevator, as this college town hotel has lots of late night comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLN327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your many visits and for taking the time to share your comments. We have an ongoing replacement program for our in room air conditioners, and hope you will be happy with the system you have the next time you stay with us. Please let us know how we can make your stay more comfortable the next time you are in Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    63
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
82
37
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wamego, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Lawrence has an amazing staff. Everyone from the clerk at check-in, to the housekeepers, and breakfast attendant were all very friendly and accommodating. No luggage carts were available and a person behind the front desk helped us unload and would have helped carry luggage up to our room, but a cart showed up.
At breakfast the room was busy, but their attendant kept up well and was very friendly even though cleaning up a huge coffee spill from another guest. She cleared our table and even offered to get us another glass of juice.
This hotel is a must if you are staying in the area. Rooms are exceptionally clean and quiet and have all the amenities that you need. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are a KU Alumni or parent asked about their frequent stay program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbartraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your review about our hotel. We love what we do and want our guests to find value and comfort here every time they stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy, WI
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just stayed here and can't say enough great things about the hotel. The check in staff and breakfast crew were fantastic and very courteous! The rooms are very clean, nice size and free internet. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast crew constantly kept asking us if they could serve us more or get us more to drink. The beds in the rooms were comfortable. The hotel overall is very clean. We needed directions and the front staff helped us figure out where we needed to go. We've stayed at others places and they just don't compare. We know where we'll stay next time we visit Lawrence. You just can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snickers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your excellent review and strong recommendation. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and we want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us. Please continue to let us know how we are doing on your next visit to Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This continues to be our go to hotel when in Lawrence. Check in a breeze, thanks Zach! I did change the reservation a few days prior to arrival to take advantage of a KU Orientation special we found out about and again Zach was more then happy to help us out without hesitation. As per my last review, great location and yes a can of soda in the machine is still $1.00!! Those of us that frequent hotel vending know that is unheard of. We have a few more reservations already at this hotel in the months to come since our daughter will be going to KU in the fall and know when we arrive that our entire experience will be top notch. Thanks! Now if only we could get a reservation for Parents Weekend in Oct instead of the Holiday Inn on McDonald :)

Room Tip: Read one review about slleep quality, choose a room on the north (furtherst from Highway) & west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your many visits and wonderful reviews. I'm glad you are happy with the service and accommodations (and vending prices!) we provide, and really appreciate your praise of Zach. He inspires us all to do our best with every guest every day, and I'll be sure he receives the positive recognition he deserves for being mentioned here by you. We look forward to welcoming you back many times as your daughter continues her education here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great place to stay, staff is very friendly, rooms are spotless, beds are very comfortable, some highway noise but overall pretty quite. From a scale 1-10 I give my overall stay a 10.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexy_momma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for making your very first TA review about our hotel. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Never enough staff at desk, phones ringing off the hook with only 1 person working the desk and a line of people to check in. There should always be two people at the front desk. Other than the service issue, it was a nice, clean hotel and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am terribly sorry you were disappointed with the service at our front desk, and hope you will accept my apologies. We don't always know when things will get busy, and sometimes are not able to bring another person in to help when needed. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here on a recent visit to KU. Very well maintained, appears new. Nice touches: pillows marked 'soft' and 'firm'; large screen TV; continental breakfast +, bikes available, friendly service, spotless. The location is on the very outskirts of town(but it's a small town), some highway noise, small indoor pool. The breakfast was better than expected: advertised as continental, but carries the ubiquitous(in this area) biscuits & gravy, plus bacon, microwave omelets, and a 'pancake machine', in contrast to the waffle irons found in other hotels.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sad7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience here. I'm sorry if the highway noise distrubed you, and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. We really want to exceed our guest's expectations, and your positive recognition of jobs well done is greatly appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to the next opportunity you allow us to serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
411 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Lawrence
256 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
172 reviews
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lawrence

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Address: 3411 S Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites takes pride in its clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Our hotel is the place to stay in Lawrence, Kansas.Our hotel is only 5 minutes from the University of Kansas , Rock Chalk Park and the Soccer and Softball Fields, Lied Center, Dole Institute of Politics, Haskell University, Alvamar Golf Course, and the historic downtown of Lawrence, Kansas. The hotel offers complimentary high speed Internet and a meeting facility that accommodates 50 to 80 people depending on set-up.Must be 21 and have a valid credit card to rent a room. We are sorry but we are no longer allow pets. We are a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Holiday Inn Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing