We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a very nice place to rest your head. The rooms are large and clean, the indoor pool and hot-tub were well maintained and apportioned. Breakfast was hot and good with attentive service. We are looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatherRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thanks so much for your review and enthusiasm. We try to meet or exceed guests expectations, and are pleased when people enjoy themselves here. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

I will start by admitting we normally stay in Marriotts. But we switched from Spring Hill to this Holiday Inn Express and were impressed from the first phone call. "Will" helped us and was extremely nice, professional and easy-going. It was graduation weekend, which is normally a frantic time, and the staff handled it with ease. There were cookies with jayhawks on them and balloons and even graduation pamphlets to help. The beds were comfortable and the towels were PLUSH. The rooms were extremely quiet, clean and smelled great. I can not say enough - great place to stay in Lawrence!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank life2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Wow – thank you so much for giving us a chance and for sharing comments about your stay with us. Will is terrific, we’ll let him know of the good impression he and the rest of the team made on a former Marriott guest. We love KU & the ‘Hawks, and everything about the school, students and supporters, and hope that you will let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel during our cross country move and we loved it! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was huge and spotless, and the price was right even with their pet fee.
We asked the front desk for a list of restaurants that delivered and there were a ton! The clerk gave his suggestions and we ended up going with an Italian place. The food was really good and it was great to be able to get something besides pizza!
Overall, it was a really great stay! We were very pleased, and would definitely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_stevens17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Thanks so much for taking the time to write of your experience at our hotel. We really appreciate your recognition of our efforts to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest, and their pets, every time. We will be happy to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel while visiting the KU campus. Hotel was clean and appeared recently built. Staff at check-in was extremely friendly and called up to our room to make sure everything was okay. We were given complimentary bottles of water at check-in, which was a nice touch. Room had refrig, microwave, coffee maker. Nice size bathroom with large, thick towels although the counter top was unusually high even for my husband who is 6 ft tall. White linens and no dark bedspreads on bed - comfortable and clean. Our teenage kids used the indoor pool and it was very clean and didn't have a strong chemical smell. The breakfast was good although the eggs were a strange texture (powdered?). The staff member managing the buffet was attentive and friendly in a very considerate way. Within walking distance of the hotel was a movie theatre (actually shares the parking lot!), stores such as Target , Wal-mart and JC Penney, and restaurants, which was nice because my husband and younger daughter had things to do for several hours while I took my older daughter to visit the campus.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel – we know you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. We are glad that you and your family were pleased with the service & accommodations here, and we hope to see you many more times if your daughter decides to attend the best university in the country, Kansas University – Go Jayhawks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here on our trip to Lawrence and used points. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room and the entire hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good as Holiday Inn breakfasts go. The location was south of the main part of town but was across the street from a large discount store which was helpful when we discovered we had failed to pack everything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Thank you for submitting your comments about our hotel. We are very proud to be ranked #1 in our region by Holiday Inn, and work hard to exceed the expectations of our guests. Please let us know when you will be back again so we can welcome you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

The rooms at HIExpress are always super clean, organized, ready for guests, and the entire hotel is very, very clean, smells nice. The breakfast is exellent and the hostess there is attentive, helpful, and kind. She's been there these last 5 years during the times our daughters attended the University of Kansas, and she made our staying there a joy in the mornings. The entire staff was very, very helpful & professional.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELKU2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Thank you for your loyalty and repeat patronage, and for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We love what we do and are glad when our guests enjoy themselves during their visit. Phyllis is amazingand she inspires all of us to be helpful and professional at all times. I will make sure she recieves the recognition she deserves for making your stay so good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed here for KU visit. It is on the edge of town with shopping, restaurants, and movie theater nearby. Rooms are basic, beds comfortable. It was quiet but there did not appear to be a lot of people staying there while we were there. There also seemed to be bicycles by the front door for guests to use. Only negatives were the A/C - Heat which made a lot of noise switching on and off (no continuous fan option), and the no name fridge which did not seem to be very cold. I was concerned about keeping some leftovers in it so I took it them to the front desk and they kept them refrigerated for me overnight. The breakfast was the usual basic fare offered by hotels but the lady who handled that area was wonderful. She actually was very nice and concerned, refilled items quickly and even came around to tables to remove items or offer refills (very different from the often surly or even rude staff found at similar hotels). I did ask to check out early when we got done with our college visit earlier than expected but they only offered to refund 1/2 of the nightly fee so we stayed. It would have been nice if they had let us check out early.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and we are sorry that the fridge and AC unit caused you concern. Of course we are glad you found our people and service to be pleasant and professional. We are all big KU fans here, and we offer a free night for every six paid nights to parents, alumni and other supporters (you can sign up when you make your reservation or at the front desk.) We hope that you will stay with us again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
433 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
396 reviews
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lawrence

Address: 3411 S Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range: $128 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites takes pride in its clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Our hotel is the place to stay in Lawrence, Kansas.Our hotel is only 5 minutes from the University of Kansas , Rock Chalk Park and the Soccer and Softball Fields, Lied Center, Dole Institute of Politics, Haskell University, Alvamar Golf Course, and the historic downtown of Lawrence, Kansas. The hotel offers complimentary high speed Internet and a meeting facility that accommodates 50 to 80 people depending on set-up.Must be 21 and have a valid credit card to rent a room. We are sorry but we are no longer allow pets. We are a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Holiday Inn Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing