We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Oread

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oread
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice hotel rooms, good location, good view. There are only about 3 hotels I would stay it within walking distance of KU or Mass St (this is one of them). The hotel itself is very nice and there are a few restaurant areas inside. It's always been very clean. I've never had an issue with the rooms themselves.

However, I've had a few problems at the sports bar/restaurant (Bird Dog cafe) before. Once they charged my card twice and another time a friend and I had both of our drinks/food on one "tab" until we were ready to pay and the server double charged us. During some game days they will also have a limited menu, which makes me sad because then I can't get the food I really love. They refused to make it for me. It's good food though and they have some good beers on tap.

I know they have valet parking but I have never paid for it as I just find a place to park on the street (you are free to park on the streets, you just have to find a spot! Some times of the day are harder than others).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 255 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Lawrence to attend a KU basketball game and stayed the night at The Oread. The facility is located on/near campus and is within walking distance of several restaurants. The room was extremely clean and the view of the campus from our room was breathtaking.
The staff was extremely helpful regarding where to park for the game, recommended restaurants (the food in the Bird Dog cafe looked delicious) and was attentive in bar/restaurant area.
I would definitely go here again when staying in Lawrence.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nufootballgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were taking our daughter on a tour of college campuses and it was very handy to the U of Kansas. The young man working the front desk the afternoon we checked in was extremely friendly and helpful. He gave us several maps that helped guide us for a walk around the university as well as a trip into town.

The room was extremely spacious, well appointed and quiet. We didn't opt to eat dinner or have a drink at the hotel, but the facilities looked very inviting. We did have to pay for valet parking, but it was nice that we didn't have to schlep our bags from a distant parking lot to the room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lawrence - fabulous accommodations and a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieGF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had to pay valet parking, when I arrived at 11pm. Normally I am OK with valet parking, but to get this extra fee in Kansas - in my opinion it is a little off - Further more, I had to call the reception after midnight to have them get music turned off somewhere in the building. As early as 6.30 the loud music was on again! The smell of greasy foods is also a constant companion in the corridor where the fitness room is. I was not impressed and I will NEVER choose The Oread again. However I would for this kind of money choose the Eldridge - or choose a cheaper hotel just off campus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aura4Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was in town for a conference at KU, and had never stayed in the area before. When I arrived, after a long day of travel, I was immediately impressed and re-energized. The building, staff and amenities are all first-rate. The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. There was even a sound machine next to the bed, and ear plugs, to help you sleep. The food is fantastic. I wish I had stayed for more than just one night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJG9486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is really a three star hotel if comparing it on a national level, and really a five star for the State of Kansas/City of Lawrence. Hence the compromise on 4 stars.
If visiting the campus of KU the location is perfect. The staff is like everything in the area : helpful, kind and generous with their time and patience.
The food is actually very good in the upscale restaraunt with a suprisingly nice wine list.
The rooms while nice looking have some design flaws. For example the one phone is on a desk far from the bed, the shower stall in an otherwise large bathroom is tiny and dark. The curtains do not block out light etc etc.
Having said all that I enjoyed my stay and would return should I need to be in the Lawrence area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwyscllct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

In September we hosted our daughter's wedding and reception at the Oread Hotel. The wedding was held on the 9th Floor Terrace which has a beautiful view of the KU campus. The reception was held in the Griffith Room which worked out beautifully. It had a wonderful stone bar and being on the lower level allowed us privacy from the rest of the hotel.

The Oread staff was very nice and helpful. In particular we worked with Whitney Webber, the Event Coordinator, and she was always very professional, courteous and a pleasure to deal with. Prior to wedding I sent her numerous questions and always received an immediate response. On the day of the wedding, Whitney was there the entire time to ensure that everything went smoothly. I can't say enough nice things about her and how she handled our event. The Oread is lucky to have such a wonderful employee.

The only negative comment I have is regarding the private elevator used to take the guests to the 9th Floor Terrace. This was a hotel design issue and had nothing to do with the staff. The staff was at the elevator to direct our guests to the terrace for the wedding.

Again, we were very pleased with the Oread and would use them again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eldridge Hotel
Eldridge Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lawrence
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
247 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oread

Address: 1200 Oread Ave, Lawrence, KS 66044-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#7 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range: $155 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oread 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawrence's Premier Multi-purpose Venue!The Oread is the most unique and complete center for lodging, hospitality, business and social leisure activities in the region - all at one extraordinary location. Perched atop Mount Oread at the north gate of The University of Kansas, The Oread's spectacular views look out over the Kaw River Valley and across campus to the Campanile and KU Football Stadium. The beautifully constructed limestone building is the perfect combination of the traditional architecture of the KU campus with the contemporary elegance of The Oread's spacious public and private areas. The Oread's 10 above-ground floors and five below ground levels contain two large banquet rooms perfect for weddings and large business and social gatherings, a business center with meeting and breakout rooms, a theater with state of the art audio/video equipment and wireless Internet access throughout the building. There are 99 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, each with granite bathrooms and featuring individually controlled air, 50 inch flat screen televisions, laptop docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Oread's lifestyle amenities include a tanning salon and fitness center, a variety of restaurants and bars on six levels, including upper-level outdoor terrace bars and observation decks with breath-taking views. The Oread also offers convenient underground valet parking for easy access in every kind of weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Oread reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oread Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing