We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Jellystone Park was a fantastic experience for my family. It was a very clean cabin. The staff and management team went above and beyond to make sure our stay was the best. They had actives for the family the entire weekend. We will definitely be returning to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri_Bri2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time at our park. We do our best to plan amazing activities that the entire family will enjoy and it makes us so happy to see that someone enjoyed all of our efforts. We're always making improvements so the next time should be even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    54
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
117
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

"Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resorts are dedicated to providing each guest with a quality camping experience in a clean and entertaining environment." –Not met in my experience

I gave the property owners/franchise owners almost four days to respond and they did not respond to my complaint. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin-largest on the property. This was our first time staying at your property and I don't know if we will recommend or come back. I am used to camping and grew up on a property in the woods but our experience was beyond any cabin we have ever stayed at. Shortly upon entering and unpacking we realized there was a problem with ants. One of the staff members gave us some ant spray and saw the ants in the loft area. We were given new sheets the ants immediately returned. So they gave us new sheets again. The manager was not on the property and the staff said they couldn’t do anything about the problem other than give us ant spray. Our daughter decided to sleep in another area. We cleaned and took our trash to the dump site after every meal - trying to reduce any problem but they were in the walls. The ants were in the kitchen as well. We carefully put our bread, apples, bananas, ect in the microwave and midday when we went to get buns noticed it was infested. (Not a few but hundreds so we threw the stuff out.)The manager came on the property and saw the problem. He did not see as many as we saw since we had just cleaned the area. He cleaned the microwave with Clorox and vacuumed a little as well as looked around the cabin. They gave us a $10 credit for hot dog buns and charcoal - the stores prices were 2x what I originally paid. He also gave a 10 credit for the peddle bikes. I did not feel he would give us a greater credit or even a return to leave the property so I took the $20 credit. In the evening I noticed ants in the larger bedroom. We considered leaving but did not see where to return the key so we left at 10am after breakfast. We would have left earlier but unfortunately it was heavily raining and we were soaked even when we did leave. The cabins door also did not fully close and when it rained it leaked water. The floor was even soft and was not safe to walk on it. We mentioned this to the manager on Sunday and he said he was aware of it. One could see that it was filled with mold from the moisture in this area. When the rain came it poured in by the floor and flooded the area. The WIFI and bounce pillow were also down for the weekend. I don't think this lived up to the price we paid for the cabin for the two nights stay. I am very disappointed with the manager's response and the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went the weekend after Halloween, so nothing was going on and the park was very quite. The spaces are very close, but so are other places we stayed, that is not any issue. The corn maze was still up and my 3 year old really liked it, we took nice slow strolls a couple times. The playground was nice and the jumping pillow was awesome. We had it to ourselves because there just weren't many people at the park. There is an arcade, some machines ate our money. Summertime I bet is a blast, they have an in-ground pool and do activities. We will def be back because this place is close to home for us, but makes for a fun weekend getaway. I think it was only around $32.00/night with our good sams club membership. Their cabins look really neat too!

Room Tip: They do have fire pits at each campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swatkins7485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here fri-sun in an rv with family of 5. Non-stop activities for the kids all weekend with a very attentive staff. Nothing but positive things to say about the campground and living in the kc area, we will definitely return on a regular basis. Awesome place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KCTimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Spent a weekend at Jellystone Park in Lawrence, KS. The sites are too close together and they are gravel. Park is kept up, there are permanent trailers in the park. Shower house was clean. At near $100.00 a weekend I expect much better accommodations than this place. (i.e. asphalt site and the ability to put my awning out without touching the neighbors awning. A train is nearby and the roar of I70 is constant. The activities are another 50.00 for the weekend. I think I would look for something around one of the Corp lakes if I was to go back over there. As far as a place to pull of I 70 there has to be something cheaper. I would just take the extra 15 minutes and go to one of the Corp. of Engineer campgrounds on Lake Perry. Will not return because I don't find value in the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hungry_in_SouthKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
424 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
244 reviews
2.9 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA

Property: Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA
Address: 1473 Highway 40, Lawrence, KS 66044-9477
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest charm with big city accessibility. Jump right off of I-70 and over to this KOA for a great overnight stay or to awaken the inner weekend warrior within. With one of the best locations off the interstate, this park has easy in and easy out spaces, plenty of pull thru full hook up site with cable, lodging options, and tent sites. Kansas University and Lawrence Historical Downtown are just 3 miles away. Even better, we are just 20 minutes west of Kansas City Legends shopping outlet, Schlitterbahn water park, and the Kansas Speedway. Enjoy our clean bathrooms and shower house, laundry room, pool, WiFi, dog park and two playgrounds. Summer and Fall themed activities include our new mini zip line, gem mining, outdoor movies, wagon rides, tie dye, slip and slide, water balloon launcher, game room, slack line plus many more fun events for the entire family. Satisfy your appetite without the work of cooking and cleaning at our café and grab anything you may have left behind at our convenience store. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing