We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Virginia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The service was helpful when I checked in. Beds were firm as well. I loved the huge shower head. With all this said, I was surprised to find a mandatory $8 charge on my bill. I asked what that was for and was just told it was a mandatory charge without giving me a description as to what it was for. I don't like fees like this, so I will probably look at a different hotel when I stay there the next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank protias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
52
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had stayed at this Motel last night and will never go there again. I stayed in room 124 and the window heating unit was so loud that it kept me up all night. The bed was clean but the mattress was felt hard to my back. Showering was a real fiasco... The bathtub would not drain and the water went from very hot to cold and the shower head was loose as well. I will pay a little more in stay in a nicer hotel. The flat screen television, microwave, and mini-fridge were nice but not worth me loosing a night's sleep over...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllenF310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I had to find something in town on very short notice, tripadvisor had this one highly recommended and the reviews were spot on. This was low season (mid january, brrrrr!) so the place was half empty, and when we checked in the owner/manager offered us the largest king suite in the place for $15 more a night than I was going to pay for the smallest, cheapest room.

Clearly the place is taken care of, as it was immaculate inside. The building itself is a little old but everything inside was new, in good shape, and clearly well cared for. I was very very happy, and even more so considering the price. I travel a TON for business and I wish most of our business hotels were run this well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljwobker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was just driving through and picked this motel because of price and the reviews. Boy were they right. The staff was very friendly. The location was good. The price was right. Big room, comfy bed, and a good-quiet night sleep. Can;t beat that with a stick.

Room Tip: I like top floor rooms so nobody is making noise on my head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you are looking for an economical choice, you can't go wrong with the Virginia Inn. All rooms have an outdoor entrance/exit. There are two buildings (a two story and a single story). We were pleasantly surprised with the updated look to the room. Newer fixtures (tub, toilet, sink), tile, carpeting. While far from luxurious, even the base room was equipped with a refrigerator,microwave and 42" flat screen TV. Hair dryer, single cup coffee pot, desk and chair, and a recliner and free WIFI are also included.
Much more to offer than the economy chain hotels, and even better than most moderately priced chains. They even have 4 smoking rooms available, you don't find that much anymore!
Free continental breakfast consisting of muffins, danishes, instant oatmeal, cereal, bagels, coffee and juice.Grocery store across the street for any other needed food items.
The owners (I presume) run the place and they are very friendly.
As another reviewer stated, the lighting in our room was a tad dim, but it did not bother us at all.
You can bet we will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcpnkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked this room on Priceline for a great price after reading all of the good reviews. We recently stayed here one night while we were in town for a show at the Granada. This place is great for a one star! The man at the desk, who I presume is the owner upgraded our room at no cost to a room with a jacuzzi. He was very friendly and welcoming. The room had tons of space with a large flatscreen (which we didn't really use), fridge, microwave, etc. The bed was super comfortable as well. It is only a short drive to downtown Lawrence. My only complaint is the dim lighting but it didn't even really bother me so I guess that's a moot point. All in all this is an excellent value and better than many 3+ star hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in August 2012, 2 nights, older motel, nice size rooms, very clean and great staff. Booked online and asked for a downstairs room if possible, and we did get one, even though they were very busy. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
395 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
1.9 mi away
Eldridge Hotel
Eldridge Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lawrence
253 reviews
2.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Inn

Property: Virginia Inn
Address: 2903 W 6th St, Hwy 40, Lawrence, KS 66049-4533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lawrence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginia Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Inn Hotel Welcome's you! Virginia Inn and Suites is ideally located in the heart of Lawrence. Area attractions include the Allen Fieldhouse, Memorial Stadium, Lawrence Arts Center, Lied Center and Spencer Museum of Art. All rooms come with microwaves, refrigerators, hairdryers and 42inch HDTV with 180 DirectTV channels including, HBO Cinemax . Wi-Fi makes it easy to stay in touch with the folks back home. Next to Starbucks and several restaurants, this hotel is in a convenient spot. The University of Kansas campus with its sporting venues, Spencer Museum of Art and Lied Center is one miles south. Enjoy historic downtown, two miles to the east, or reunite with nature at Clinton State Park, eight miles west. The new RockChalk Park is just three miles west. The Kansas Nascar Speedway, Hollywood Casino, Legends shopping area, and Schlitterbahn water park is only 25 miles from this Lawrence hotel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Virginia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing