We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few Choices in the Area - Captive Audience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lansing
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Few Choices in the Area - Captive Audience”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

There are few hotels in the Leavenworth Lansing area. The Days Inn and Super 8 down the highway are horrible - run cheaply - and in dis-repair. The 13 year old "Holiday Inn Express" is unfortunately the best in the area. The rooms are small - and there is little in the way of sound abatement between the walls. The road noise is not a problem since the hotel is off the highway and the back side of the hotel is against a residential area. The hotel parking lot surrounds the rooms, so if any one comes late or leaves early - you will be awakened by the car - or truck. You will also hear all the noise from the rooms next door - including the alarm clocks, TV's, coughs, etc.
The hotel has old fish eye TV's with limited channels to watch. The beds are very old, maybe original - sagging mattresses - and cheap sheets and blankets. The pillows are cheap postage stamps. The sleep quality is very poor. The towels are nice. The curtains do not close properly - bring a clip to close out the light.
The breakfast buffet is full of carbs - no fresh fruit, little choice - they have plenty of Wal-Mart style pastries, re-cooked pasteurized processed eggs substance, and cereal, processed oatmeal, weak coffee and cheap juice. They do offer a USA Today. This is a franchise location with the owner having little incentive to improve and the Holiday Inn Brand IHG not requiring improvment. Why do they bother to send out surveys when the IHG does not make the franchase owner improve the property?

The "Business Center" is one computer with a printer in a small room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nearnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansingHieGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel! Every review we get is valuable to our hotel and greatly appreciated. I am sorry you had some issues while staying with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. I believe you had some issues with noise and some complaints about your sleep quality. Our mattresses are relatively new and rotated every quarter to insure proper upkeep and comfort. The sheets and pillows in rooms are the mandated sheeting that IHG requires all Holiday Inn Express's to carry. I am very sorry to hear that you did not care for the quality of them. I will pass that along to our area manager. I always encourage my guests to call our front desk associates for help or assistance with any issue. We try to do so in a timely manner. I am sorry again for the inconveniences you experienced and thank you again for bringing these things to our attention to be handled appropriately by management. We hope you will give us another chance sometime in the future to provide you with acceptable accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    14
    5
    17
See reviews for
24
9
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We had a great stay from arrival to departure. It is obvious that the entire team at the hotel is working on the perfect stay. The front desk clerks spoke to everyone passing by, offering assistance. Check-in was quick and the description of services was full and complete. Housekeeping keeps a very clean, well ordered hotel. Maintenance is up to date, and immediately on the job. We mentioned to the front desk one morning that our air conditioner seemed to not be cooling properly. They immediately contacted maintenance. Upon our return, there was no doubt the unit was working properly! Breakfast is fresh and hot and well stocked. The folks taking care of breakfast are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I really recommend enjoying the in-house breakfast. Rooms are very quiet and the heating/air unit is quiet running. The hotel is about a half block west of the street so keep an eye out for their sign. Parking at the front of the hotel is a bit minimal but there are plenty of spaces at the back of the hotel. We will return at least twice in the Spring of 2011 and will plan on staying at this fine hotel. Well done everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I was told that this hotel had recently been remodeled. The lobby area was nice and clean. Customer service was kind and responsive as well. Breakfast menu was very good and the quality of the food good as well. The room/bathroom were nice and clean. Beds were comfortable as well. I would have given it max stars if I didn't have to endure the mildew/musty smell coming from the AC unit (maybe a carryover before the renovation). This can be solved quickly with a can of Lysol. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't have any on hand. I guess I could have asked for another room. There are a couple of traditional food establishments close to the hotel. This hotel is in a very quiet area and not really close to any active establishments.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gara56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The room was clean, comparable to any Holiday Inn type. There's a microwave and small fridge in the room. The staff at the front desk were nice. No long paperwork during checkin or anything.

Free wireless in rooms and a business center with a single computer and printer, free use.

There's a heated indoor pool and a hot tub near the lobby area. Open 24 hours. It was never crowded, I guess most guests just don't know about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BocosTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed recently for a wedding and were satisfied with the accommodations. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were standard HI Express fare, but certainly plentiful and restocked regularly. The pool was a bit small for all its customers, but we had fun playing in it. Our interactions with the front desk were positive. The staff got my road-weary relatives into a suite 3 hours prior to check in, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahtravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I was clearly taken aback by the bad reviews but needed to stay in Lansing directly. I was so pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, friendliness of staff, and amenities that I do not understand the bad ratings. Everyone's standard is different but i can tell you that it has been years since I have stayed in anything but a full service 4 or ideally 5 star hotel like a Ritz Carlton or at least a Hyatt Resort hotel. The only thing missing at this hotel would be a nice restaurant but try 'Mamma Mia' in Leavenworth -American Italian and you will not regret your stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobwabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Check in took almost an hour. There was a line because they were so slow. You would think that we didn't have reservations. You had to fill out all of this stuff. Angie was like, "Do they want to know your blood type too?" Serious hassle.

Breakfast was blech, but the bugs were worse. Angie found some bugs that looked like ticks in her room the next day. I think they were there because this place welcomes pets. If you are going to do that, you need to make sure you clean the rooms thoroughly. Apparently, housekeeping is very bad.

We moved to a different hotel the next day and they wanted to know where we were staying. They interrogated Angie about the bugs and acted like they weren't going to let us leave. Check out took forever instead of being simple and quick. It was a pain because we had to do it during our lunch break.

Oh, and to top it off the only compensation they gave us was $10 off the room rate. I think Angie's should have been comped after all of that hassle.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
#1 of 4 in Leavenworth
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Leavenworth
10.0 mi away
Ramada Platte City Kci Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#38 of 109 in Kansas City
237 reviews
10.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport North
10.3 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth
Address: 120 Express Ln, Lansing, KS 66043-1382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Leavenworth. We are located near many local attractions and business including: Kansas Speedway, State & Federal Prisons, Eisenhower Medical Center, St. Mary's University, Renaissance Festival, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and Basehor Field of Dreams Ballpark. Top all this off with historical sites and Kansas Hospitality and you have a great get-a-way place to visit. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Lansing, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth Hotel Lansing
Lansing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing