We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and decent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lansing
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient and decent.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We took our niece to visit her father in Leavenworth and this was the nicest, closest place to stay so we opted for it. It was easy to find, had a lot of restaurants close by, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We got a king suite which had a roll out sofa which was nice for staying with our niece. The breakfast i thought was the same you get at most hotels but I was a little dissapointed in the variety of options for hot/cold breakfast. There was little fruit and by time we ate some of the things were cold..and just not good. We went to Ihop across the street instead! The swimming pool was VERY COLD, and given that it was cold outside it lead to an overcrowded hot tub/whirlpool so our downtime was not able to be spent as we had anticipated given my 7 year old niece's lips were blue after 20 minutes of swimming.
Good points: quiet, even across from the elevator we did not get much hall noise that I noticed. Comfortable, with a microwave and small fridge we were able to have lunchtime items, snacks and drinks easily accessible without having to bring a cooler etc.
Bad points: the person at the desk when we arrived seemed to have no opinions of his own, I asked about placed to eat dinner and I think I scared him. very cold swimming pool.

Room Tip: Depending on your party size it is worth the extra money to upgrade to a suite. It provides a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    14
    5
    17
See reviews for
24
9
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have stayed in the HI Express in Lansing multiple times over the years, and since I travel there frequently, I expect I'll stay there again. It isn't horrible by any means. It's always clean and the staff are extremely friendly. It's just not all that great, and has gone downhill in the last year. I was there over Thanksgiving, and I don't know if it was hard to get staff coverage for the holiday or if it was because it was fully booked, but the breakfast buffet was frequently out of food. I understand if the scrambled eggs run low and it takes a minute to swap out a hot pan. I don't understand how every single coffee vessel can be bone dry. Or the cold cereal containers. Raisin Bran keeps for years on a shelf! How do you run out? One night (of course, after everybody was in their PJs) the toilet stopped up. My call to the front desk was met with "You can come get a plunger." Seriously? The lamps next to the bed weren't functioning when we checked in, and I called the desk immediately. It was late, so they said they'd send maintenance by the next day. When we checked out four days later, we still hadn't seen maintenance. Or much of anything else, as those rooms are dark enough as it is without having two of the four light sources not working! There are very few outlets, so forget charging a lap top or a phone without moving furniture. The toilet paper and facial tissue had to have been rejected by the prison, they were so rough! The beds were comfortable enough, but the sheets were low quality and scratchy. The carpet was threadbare, especially in the doorway.

I know this isn't the Ritz and I shouldn't expect it to be. But I think you can have certain expectations of a chain like this, and despite the fact that the people were nice and the room was clean, overall my expectations weren't met. Is it enough to make me drive all the way to Kansas City to find a better hotel next time? Probably not. Just be aware that, while fine, this is not the world's greatest Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear ElsieLew,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and hotel clean. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortcomings you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice Place, Fridge, Microwave, small coffee maker in room

Property sits back off the highway, so it's pretty quiet

In the same block, there is a Burger King, Arby's, Popeye's chicken, Taco Johns and an IHOP

Clean crisp sheets, 4 pillows per bed, Air conditioner/heater quiet enough, has a fan setting that works independently, and the windows open

Hot Tub spacious and very well heated, Indoor Pool was cool but clear and comfortable

Breakfast had pancakes, eggs, sausage, hash browns, biscuits, warm cinnamon rolls, along with normal cereal, oatmeal. Also had V-8, orange juice, milk etc

Very tasty.

Overall good experience and priced well

Be Confident with choosing this property, I will return if the situation arises

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'd like to qualify this review with a statement that this Holiday Inn Express boasts clean, spacious rooms and friendly service, which is quite honestly more than this city dweller was expecting from a hotel in Kansas.

With that being said, the door to our room could only be opened with something resembling a karate chop to the handle and the "free wi-fi" seemed to delight in picking and choosing when it wanted to permit me to connect. The room itself and service were more than acceptable and would certainly compel me to consider staying here again if I ever found myself returning to the Leavenworth-Lansing area, but those two issues were prominent enough to knock a high 4 out of 5 down to a solid 3.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TractionAvenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Andy O,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the service you received and the cleanliness of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had with your room door and our WiFi fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for one night. The reception was fast and efficient. The room was clean and functional except WiFi signal was not good in my distantly located second floor room. I had to use wifi in the lobby. Breakfast was good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MAJ_Dave44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I usually stay at BnB;s. This chain hotel was a pleasant surprise. Its a newer building and the perks of that are nice.. cleaner than the avg. The staff made it worth writing a review. Very friendly and accommodating with last min requests. Tony is a good guy. He'll take care of you. Bonus: fresh baked cookies in the lobby. I work at Ft Leavenworth often and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott5820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here June 10, 2013. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful. I was almost home to Chicago and I received a phone call from a staff member in regards to two of my journals. I had left my journals with scriptures in the room by accident. I had checkout and didn't realize I had left anything. The manager was nice enough to have them mailed to me. Although, I had to fill out a form for payment and it took about a week for me to receive them, I am appreciative because they could've thrown them away. I will stay there again when I go back to Leavenworth, KS in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
#1 of 4 in Leavenworth
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Leavenworth
10.0 mi away
Ramada Platte City Kci Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport North
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kansas City Airport-KCI East
9.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth
Address: 120 Express Ln, Lansing, KS 66043-1382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Leavenworth. We are located near many local attractions and business including: Kansas Speedway, State & Federal Prisons, Eisenhower Medical Center, St. Mary's University, Renaissance Festival, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and Basehor Field of Dreams Ballpark. Top all this off with historical sites and Kansas Hospitality and you have a great get-a-way place to visit. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Lansing, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lansing - Leavenworth Hotel Lansing
Lansing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing