We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst barbeque I've ever eaten”

Arthur Bryant's Barbeque
Ranked #14 of 262 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst barbeque I've ever eaten”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had the pulled potpourri pulled meat sandwich, it was dry and tasted like it had been drenched in a bottle of smoke sauce, like someone threw a couple of logs in the smoker and walked away for a couple of days. My daughter had the pulled pork sandwich and again tasted like it had been drenched in bottled smoke sauce. We left most of our sandwiches. I would not go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    94
    76
    49
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still the one.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Not too fancy but real. Hard to beat this place for BBQ. Although Arthur is not longer with us, his receipes live on. Don't go unless you are hungry. I like the beef sandwich best and the french fries are the best in town. Wash it down with some strawberry soda.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityDuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I received poor service at this location. The person in carry out acted as if I was bothering her just by being there. Food was good, but not great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not a fan of their burnt ends”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I don't know a lot about burnt ends. I have tried them at 2 or 3 places, and I decided to try them here. I was disappointed to find that they were covered in BBQ sauce. There was hardly any BBQ flavor. I could only taste the flavor of the sauce. The pieces were also very hard to chew. Overall, the restaurant was a good place to visit. The customers and staff were friendly. I thought the portion size was a little small. (I ended up buying a snack on the way home, because I was still hungry.) I would go back to try something else, but I will not order the burnt ends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrjanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Legendary”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is one of the king of BBQ houses in Kansas City. Very informal, but great food. Show up early as the line grows quickly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank msknbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Bryant's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Arthur Bryant's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing