We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not your usual BBQ”

Arthur Bryant's Barbeque
Ranked #17 of 261 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
kansas city
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not your usual BBQ”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

the vinegar based sauce is different from all other KC offerings. The meats are tender and juicy and the portions are generous. You gotta try this place when doing your BBQ tours.

Helpful?
Thank KansasCityBeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    92
    72
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
604 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Not a good showing by Arthur Bryants”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First, the staff here was great. They were nice and helpful, but the food was just not good. The meat was dry and the sauces added nothing to the meal. It was the biggest disappointment for this trip to Kansas. I am glad to have eaten there because now I never have to go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The barbecue is very good (as always). This is one of the nicer restaurants of the chain. Good location (next to Kansas Speedway, Legends Shopping Center, and Nebraska Furniture Mart. It was a little pricey for lunch; but the BBQ is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DRMIZZOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We ate there just before we returned home. We had the rib sandwich with the french fries. The food was great and the service was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank brontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“All over the place this trip....”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have had Arthur Bryants many times, and it is my favorite bbq in Kc. unfortunately I have a mixed review on this trip. I got ribs and my wife got pulled pork and burnt ends so we could share and sample each. The pulled pork was phenomenal, moist and tender. tge burnt ends were good, but drowned in sauce and a hair under done in my opinion. The ribs had great flavor but were overcooked to the point that they were crispy, not just the outside either. Waaay overdone. The slaw was great, and the beans were absolutely top notch, some of the best ever. We love the new place as its clean and organized, so atmosphere is perfect. Lastly, I thought it slightly overpriced for the quantity of food, and that was disappointing. i would come back, but I am not sure we would go out of our way again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Bryant's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Arthur Bryant's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing