We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regency Inn Kansas City
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

PUBLIC BEWARE... this so called motel is nothing more that a flop place for druggies... the rooms were very nasty, bed bugs everywhere and smelled terrible. it was so bad, that we only looked in long enough for a phone book to call another motel... I only wish I had read the reviews before I booked it, taught me a lesson very quick. very bad part of town, rift raft people all around it... matter of fact one of their so called quest( a woman) got beat up by some man in the parking lot while we searched for another motel. thank God we had to good sense to leave as quickly as we could.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murkymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Regency Inn Kansas City Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Owner was approached about setting up a security system that would make our valued guests feel more protected.

• Maintenance staff was notified of your report of bed bugs and instructed to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

• The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness in their work for us.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Regency Inn Kansas City. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    19
See reviews for
11
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winchester,ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We were VERY disapointed in this INN. Beds were old and worn out, bathroom tub was filthy, no phone, no clock, no ironing board. Very old and dirty, even had dead bugs in the drawers. We didn't even get a remote to turn on the TV with. also, the pool was covered/not available. all for $65 a night! I think we need a refund and would NOT recommend this place to anyone! It is the Regency Inn 4725 State Ave. Kansas City, Ks. And No discounts for AARP, senior citizens, or handicapped.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Regency Inn Kansas City Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance staff was notified of your report of bed bugs and instructed to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

• The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness in their work for us.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Regency Inn Kansas City. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Luckily we were staying for 1 night and there were 8 of us. Had to ask for a different room because of unsanitary conditions. Towels felt like sandpaper and were dingy. Showers/tubs were a big joke. One room didn't have shower curtain. Rat traps, used towels, cigarette butts, used condoms, guys repairing an old car on the lot, leaking roof. Most HORRIBLE experience I've ever had!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Regency Inn Kansas City Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance staff was notified of your report of Rat traps and instructed to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

• Maintenance was instructed to replace or repair the Showers/tubs, Curtains, Towels and the leaking roof in the room assigned to you.

• The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness in their work for us.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Regency Inn Kansas City. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janesville
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

where should i begin? sheet rock falling off walls and ceiling-very bad odor-bathroom ceiling fixture full of rust and falling out-toilet clogged before we got there-carpet had rips in it-refrigerator didnt work and smelled-looked like people lived there-towels hard and yellow-pool full of mattresses and old furniture and i saved the best for last--human excretment on the walls and chairs-went to management but theywould not give our money back! dont do it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Regency Inn Kansas City Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance was instructed to repair the Falkling walls and ceiling fixture and replace the carpet in the room assigned to you.

• The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness in their work for us. They were instructed to check all the amenities before giving the room to the guest.

• I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Regency Inn Kansas City. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

The hotel is listed as a 2-star place. Should have only 1 star, really. The room was clean, that's about the only good thing I can say about it. The room has refirgerator, if you care to bring your own breakfast, which I didn't. No breakfast (not even coffe or bagels), no hair dryers, no shampoo (only soap bars), no kleenexes (only toilet paper), no internet. The management is very stingy with towels (they will not give you extra towels if you ask for them, first time I experienced that). People travelling with kids, beware: cable package is NOT family friendly - it has porn channels but no cartoons. Also, this is the only place I've been to which does not give remote controls without a deposit. Pool was closed when we were there, not that it made any difference, since we did not bring any swimsuits.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank tsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

I booked this hotel on line after doing a lot of research. Because of the low rate I was little hesitant, but the descriptions I found made it sound decent. I even called the hotel and visited with the clerk who assured me it was a good neighborhood. It wasn't! We checked in and after walking in the room went to the clerk and asked for our money back. The room was awful, the security door propped open with a rock, and the desk clerk was unfriendly and unkept, and her standing behind bulletin proof glass did nothing for making me feel secure. We ended up driving around for almost an hour looking for another place to stay. It certainly wasn't worth it just to try to save a few dollars!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank JulesTopeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, kansas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

I stayed at the Regency Inn Suites on State Street in Kansas City with my boyfriend this last weekend.

We chose the beds in heads rate and got a king bed "suite". The 'suite' was one large room with a king bed, couch, and miscellaneous other furniture, much of which was broken or damaged. The standing lamp barely held together; one of the wall lamps didn't work. The carpeting was frayed and the linoleum in the bathroom was chipped and gouged. There was no stopper in the sink drain, the faucet was loose and when one turned on the water, the whole faucet and handles mechanism would move - clearly it wasn't attached to anything. The exhaust fan in the bathroom made a horrible noise. There was about a 1/2" gap in the door, so that the wind, with temperatures in the teens, blew in (on the bed).

When we first got into the room, it smelled so strongly of some ammonia, lemony-vanilla scent, that one had to wonder what they were masking.

The place listed 'all amenities' but it didn't even have a coffee pot or a hair dryer; it had no wifi, which it specifically listed. There was no pool, spa, laundry room. The television had a couple of good (viewable channels) but the rest of the channels had double vision including the weather channel and the local news station (both of which were necessary for later traveling). I stumbled across an unprotected porn channel: good thing I didn't bring kids along.

Although this rate seemed low, it didn't seem incredibly low (so that you would expect this kind of place). As we were checking in, we noticed there was a guy who had followed us into the 'lobby' and he stood there and listened and watched while we were checking in. It made us both uncomfortable. I never left anything valuable in the room while I was away, including jewelry and my laptop. It was clear that the people in the room next to us lived there.

We noted that this hotel was not rated, but we picked it anyway because it said it had been renovated recently, so we assumed it was not 'yet' rated. I could go on and on about it; I've seen worse motels, but did not expect something this level from hotels.com. If you are homeless, it would be a good, cheap place to stay. if you are a traveler with options, choose other options.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — pretty much everything, and i forgot to mention that there were only 2 towels and they were dingy and rough-looking. I bought new ones to use.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueSilkGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#13 of 21 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
#7 of 21 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
7.6 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kansas City Speedway
6.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn Kansas City

Property: Regency Inn Kansas City
Address: 4725 State Ave, Kansas City, KS 66102
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Regency Inn Kansas City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Inn Hotel is ideally located off Interstate & I-635, Exit #5, on Hwy-24(State Ave.); At 47th Street & State Avenue corner, near & north of I-70 & I-635 junction in KC-KS, just minutes away from Schlitterbahn Vacation Village water park and The Legends at Village West entertainment and dining district. This Kansas City, KS hotel is convenient to popular attractions like the Kansas Speedway, Cabela's, Nebraska Furniture Mart, the Sprint Center and Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, amusement parks. The University of Kansas Medical Center is also in the area. Argosy Casino Gambling is just north on I-635, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing