We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel surrounded by the grasslands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Hotel surrounded by the grasslands”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Arrived in Kansas City in the middle of a 10 day multi-city/state tour.

LOCATION

The location of this hotel is very safe since it is right next to a church and surrounded by grasslands...lots of grass. There is nothing withing walking distance except the gas station which happens to be 24 hours and has snacks. If you want civilization you have to drive one exit on the highway where you will find shopping centers full of chain stores and restaurants. You are about 20 minutes from KCI (or MCI) airport and about 20 minutes from where the KC Royals play. Living in a big city area, I very much enjoyed the quiet surroundings of this hotel as you can go outside, walk around an just enjoy the sounds of the night and the smell of fresh air. Very tranquil and very relaxing.

ROOM, PRICE, CLEANLINESS and COMFORT

The price of the room was about $116 (without tax and with my AAA discount). We got a standard room with two (2) queen beds along with a pullout sofa bed, fridge and microwave. The room was extremely clean and the A/C worked great. Staff was friendly and even had my room temp with A/C on at 65 degrees when I checked in as I requested in the reservation. I was very impressed that a hotel actually reads those little comment requests!

BREAKFAST and OTHER AMENITIES

Breakfast was included in our room price but we never got up for it. So I am sorry to say I cannot give a review on the breakfast, but can tell you that the people were nice and the bill was under the door the following morning. It was also nice that there was plenty of parking and the hotel does NOT charge per day for a parking fee. We did not stay long enough to notice the other amenities of the place.

This location is great if you are looking for some peace and quiet so you can enjoy the country night. The area is safe, the surroundings are tranquil and the mood is relaxing. If you are looking to be in the middle of a noisy city with action all hours of the night, then I suggest staying in KC, MO in the middle of the city center. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel with peaceful surroundings, I HIGHLY recommend going here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No_Roaches_Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Suites Speedway! We hope to see you again the next time you visit Kansas City!

Thanks,

Brian
GM
Comfort Suites Speedway
913-299-4466
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    60
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
83
39
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

It's almost hard to imagine that I would give a great review to a hotel but this place deserves it. The room was clean. The staff was very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was very good having savory, sweet, and healthy choices. The price may be a little high for some pocket books and it's a shame we have to spend over a hundred bucks to get a clean room but it sure cuts down on the stress.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodLoverinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, General Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
FoodLoverinOK,
Thank you for your review and we thank you for your business. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please keep us in mind when your travels bring you back through our part of Kansas City!
Brian, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very nice rooms with a good lay out. Beds were comfortable and relaxing. Staff was really nice and helpful, we were meeting some friends there and the staff was able to put us in a room right next to each other. The Breakfast was good and the coffee was great! The pool was a little to cold, wasn't very heated at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, General Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for dropping us a line on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your business and your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and your friends. Thanks for the tip about the pool, we will follow up with our maintenance about the water temperature. We hope to see you again when you are in the area! Thanks again.
Brian, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for a Spring Break overnight. The staff was very helpful and all of the kids enjoyed themselves. We enjoyed all of the breakfast options. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, General Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Beth W,
Thank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it! We are beyond thrilled that your children and yourself enjoyed your time with us and hope that you choose to stay with us whenever you travel to Kansas City, Kansas.
Brian, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My feelings for this hotel are mixed even a couple weeks after my stay. Most of the hotel was nice and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was fair but nothing special. The weight room does not have any free weights but at least the equipment worked and was clean. Unfortunately there was a horrible smell in the elevator that lasted for my entire 3 day stay. It smelled like a can for lemon furniture polish exploded. I had to hold my breath not to gag. I don't feel that my stay was worth the money but all the hotels in Kansas City seemed too high so that doesn't help me. Great staff but I don't think there will be a next time for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, General Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Derek S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to our TripAdvisor page about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We would like to apologize for the lemon smell in the elevator, and also for not having dumbbells in our fitness room. We would hope that you could give us a second chance to ensure you enjoy your WHOLE stay. We could offer you a more affordable room also, since you were not happy about that part either. Please email us deskmanager115@gmail.com, we would love to hear from you.
Thank you
Brian, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed May 25th no place in the area had any rooms. We were able to find a queen suite and this hotel the only room they had left. Hotel was very busy--but all the employees had a smile. Hotel was great - room was great - breakfast was great nothing special but what you would expect. It is located about 4 minutes to shopping, racetrack, casino, everything Village West has to offer. Will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, General Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
luvtotravel05,
Thank you for staying with us and also thank you for such a great review! Keep us in mind this summer, we will be offering discount Schlitterbahn tickets!
Brian, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed for a business meeting and was pleasantly surprised of how clean, spacious and fresh the room was. It had been a few years that I had stayed at a Comfort Suites and before it did not leave a lasting impression on me but this time it did. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. They gave me good suggestions on local restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesKS115, General Manager at Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dennis L,
Our whole hotel staff is happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us while on a business trip to Kansas City. Thanks for the review and we hope that the next time your company needs meeting room space that you will come back to see us! Thanks.
Brian, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#13 of 21 in Kansas City
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kansas City Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City

Property: Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
Address: 3000 N 103rd Ter, Kansas City, KS 66109-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing