We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay here twice a year when we come to town for business. While my husband is working there's great shopping close by for me. The hotel is a very cool place. Each room is themed. That sounds silly but it's a lot of fun. We stayed in the presidential suite and loved it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Manistee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 435 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've stayed here a couple times and have had wonderful experiences. Our favorite room so far is the Venetian. All of the rooms offer spa tubs and are themed differently! So fun! The service is always great. They offer lots of extras to add more touches of romance and they are all worth it! Ordered dessert last time and it was yummy but a bit frozen still, they need to work on their breakfast the stay would be that much better. Every time we go I keep hoping they improved in the breakfast department but am yet to be impressed with that aspect. Oh well here's to hoping! We will still go back again and again!

Room Tip: The Venetian is our favorite! Very romantic!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chateau Avalon to celebrate her Birthday and were glad we stayed there, once.
We probably won't return and left feeling like we were overcharged and under-appreciated.
The suite was very clean, but both of us felt was poorly designed. The sleeping area was "walled-in" and cramped.
The hotel is really out-of-the-way for dining at popular Kansas City restaurants. The quiet was appreciated, but the travel into the restaurant district was not.
For the money we could have stayed at a very nice Plaza Area Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first time on our wedding night in 2006 and we have stayed here several times since then. On our most recent stay for a romantic getaway, we were sitting in our room at the table by the door eating take out dinner that we had picked up. In this room is the bed, whirlpool tub, and the table and all can be seen from the front door. While sitting at the table, the door suddenly unlocks and opens and it is an employee with a key opening the door and standing behind here was a woman and two little kids who all looked at us in suprise then the employee just shut the door and walked out. She did not knock first to allow the opportunity to vocie that the room was occupied, and no other notice was given that she was entering the room. Thank GOD we were just sitting there eating dinner...if someone had thrown the door open while I was in the whirlpool and exposed my husband and myself to an open hallway, an employee, and two small children, I would have died! To make matters worse, the air conditioning in our room did not work well and it was miserable and hot. All in all this was a horrible stay, and we will probably not be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having stayed at many a bed and breakfast, I was looking forward to checking out Chateau Avalon and their themed rooms. My husband and I stayed on a weekend, enjoying massages on the property as well. First, the room: the bathroom was about as clean as your average built-in-the-90s chain motel, and the shower was part of the jacuzzi tub, which was right near the bed. In historic bed and breakfasts, that is the norm, and is to be expected, but Chateau Avalon is not a historic property, so the placement was awkward and disappointing. Our toilet even broke the morning we checked out!. The bed barely fit in the room-- one had to turn sideways almost to squeeze between the footboard and the wall. Second, the massages: the therapists were good and quite professional, but the location of the massage room was poor. We could hear vacuuming and people chatting in the hall during our massages. On the positive side, the staff was friendly enough, though rather nonchalant when we expressed that they might want to consider better sound proofing for their massage room and that our toilet was broken; they mustered up no more than a "sorry." Breakfast in bed was a nice treat, too, although if you're used to the delight of bed and breakfast meals, this breakfast won't be anything too memorable. The last thing is the price. Based on our other bed and breakfast stays, I would have gladly payed $100-$130 for the experience at Chateau Avalon, but the rate was over $300. Beware the tricky fees-- they will make you pay a "downpayment" of over $100 before you stay, but when you're presented with the room rate-- in our case $209-- on your bill at the end of your stay, that downpayment will not be applied to the $209 rate-- it will be in addition to the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Racing business took us to the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City, KS. Looking on the internet the night before we noticed that the Chateau Avalon was running a 50% off special Sunday through Thursday on their themed rooms. Got a great room, the Venetian Palace for $129 a night, when Hampton and Holiday Inn Express were charging $175 and up. We booked 4 nights at the 50% off rate and 1 night at the regular price.

This hotel is set up for romance! They deliver your chosen breakfast in bed every morning, included in the room rate, right on the time you have selected. We had a lovely rose on the bed every morning. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful, especially with the Gilchrest and Soames toiletries and Mineral Gel.

The staff is very warm and caring. Coffee and hot water along with delicious cookies are out in the lobby 24/7. The head of housekeeping came by one morning to specifically change one of the shower curtains (there were 4!) because she noticed a tiny spot of mildew starting. I never saw it.

Because we were staying for an extended 5 night stay, I think we were definitely not the norm. They seem to get many honeymooners and anniversary couples that stay 1 or 2 nights. We were in the middle of a 20 night road trip so I had a lot of luggage, coolers, food, etc in the room. It was a tight fit but everything was worth it. It really began to feel like home!

The one and only drawback to the Venetian Palace as well as the Pirates Cove is the fact that the tub/shower is in the middle of the room, not in a separate bathroom so the entire room gets steamy. If this is not your style ask for a room that has a separate shower like the Jesse James room.

The location, within walking distance of the Legends Outlet Mall, the baseball stadium, the soccer stadium, movie theaters, Hollywood Casino, and of course the race track make this the perfect place to stay, whether you are into romance or not.

Such a pleasant surprise and break from the chain hotels we normally frequent. We will be back next year if the race series has Kansas Speedway on the schedule. I certainly hope it does!

Room Tip: For whatever reason Room 203 has no internet access but is a great room if you don't need intern...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I was a little nervous after reading some of the negative reviews. I must say our experience was nothing short of amazing. We stayed two nights in the Presedential Suite and could not have asked for anything more. The service was out of this world, we felt like we were in an exclusive resort in some remote location, the bonus here is that you ate located next to some great shopping and restaurants. We never left the Legends area of KC. The wine bar had awesome martinis, with great deals during happy hour.
We will certainly return and maybe try out another room next time. If your looking for a romantic escape, look no farther. The only downside is the high prices, but sometime you have to splurge for the ones you love.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111-1883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $148 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing