We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy tacos - great price”
Review of Taco Republic

Taco Republic
Ranked #8 of 259 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Slow cooked, shredded meats are the heart and soul of the street taco. Add to that a little lovingly prepared, chef-driven touch, and you've got a restaurant experience that, put simply, you will love. Outdoor seating and a casual, airy atmosphere make it a great place to hang out and enjoy a taco and a beer on Saturday night. A walk up window and take-out friendly service make it perfect for Tuesday night family dinner at home. Whatever your situation, occasion or temptation, Taco Republic's got something for you. And when you're done, the one thing on your mind will be yum. Plain and simple.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
158 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Yummy tacos - great price”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Certainly not Tex-Mex, so if that's what you are looking for you will be disappointed. Great, creative selection of tacos. Good margaritas (although no frozen options). We had good service and a reasonable bill. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Above avg. food, below avg. service”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I drove by this out of the way restaurant on my way home from work last weekend. I like tacos and saw they had a take out line, so I stopped. I ordered a chicken taco with chimichurri sauce, chips and salsa. It was warm out, so I asked for a water, while I waited. The girl pointed to a soda dispensing machine they had outside. I had just paid $6.50 for a taco, chips and salsa and didn't feel like dealing with a vending machine or even discussing it with the somewhat "I'm almost too good to wait on you" girl at the window...- don't they serve drinks at Taco Republic?
The chips were a large bag of chips and two small compotes of salsa, which were a good deal. The taco, for $3.50, I thought was a little on the small side. I liked the flavors, although it was a little dry and needed salsa or something on it. I'd give the food a 4 and the service a 2. Also, no napkins in the my to go bag - it's too bad when a restaurant will let inexpensive things like water, napkins and a little friendliness get in the way of an otherwise good experience. I may go back, but I won't go out of my way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank khot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This ain't No Stinkin Taco”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Old Gas Station in a previous life turned into a corner hot spot of snooty ingredients put in a soft corn shell. These are not what we normally call a taco, probably would be suited for a peeps with a $$$ palate. Tried the Texaz Dip, cheese with 3 tablespoon of each...guacamole, spicy taco meat, and pico. Small amount for $8.50. Also, tenderloin taco and beef taco, too many strange ingredients for our taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gettingold422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
326 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Princess and Texas Fest”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Daughter home from Auburn. Surprised her by not going to OK Joe's while in this area (right across the street.) Texas experience from start to finish. "Open Flame Chicken" is absolutely great! Wonderfully friendly service. Come with and appetite and thirst!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pbaglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tow-Away Zone”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A word of warning. It is a popular restaurant with ample seating, but the parking lot is much too small. I have learned that if you have to park off of the lot, there is a fair chance that you will get your car towed. $315 - $400 ( in cash ) to a Merriam tow service - that makes it a very expensive taco dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Republic also viewed

 

Been to Taco Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing