We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but encountered some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Little Rock
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location but encountered some issues”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Even though there are age issues with this hotel (chips in the furniture, worn linens, outdated bath) it is in a great location. The staff was helpful. Stayed for one night and decided the location worked well so stayed an additional night. On the second evening when we turned down the comforter there were blood splatters on the top sheet. Yes, it was washed but that is disgusting. This may be expected at a one star hotel but not at a hotel that charges $150+ per night. Took the sheet to the front desk and the young female desk clerk apologized, gave me a new sheet and sent me on my way. She later called the room and stated that the night would be complimentary. Unfortunately, she didn't follow through, so now I will have to take the time to deal with this issue. This hotel gets good reviews and hopefully this experienced can be chalked up to someone's oversight and being shorthanded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
We would like to have you back to our newly renovated hotel, it's so exciting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    102
    42
    27
    9
See reviews for
117
77
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay. Rooms clean and the staff was great. Friendly atmosphere and caring staff. Rooms excellent and service great. By far best hotel in the area. Management went out of there way to take care of the snow situation and made my stay feel like having a few friends over at home in the snow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlaculc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This Hampton Inn is the best we have stayed at and we have enjoyed our stays at all Hampton Inns but this one has the best staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable as is the entire hotel. It does tend to be booked up but we have always managed to get a reservation. It is the BEST in the KC area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice recently and both times the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the staff was great. I wish they had a shuttle that ran longer both started earlier and ran later. We went to the Hollywood Casino which operates the shuttle and it had very limited hours we thought. Other than that it is a great place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blang311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The most awesome stay around Legends & Racetrack. There isn't a better hotel in the KC area for this price. Comfort & hospitality are amazing. You will see. Recommended to all my friends for business trips and conference stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majorfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were in the KC area for a wrestling tournament, but we decided to drive a little bit out of our way to stay at this hotel because it was so close to Legends Mall and the new casino. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn't overly crowded. It was nice and quiet. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful during check-out and as needed. The lobby was clean and nicely decorated...and breakfast was good the next morning. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would feel safe and comfortable staying at this hotel again. It isn't a luxury resort, but I gave it an excellent rating because it was so pleasant to stay at. We didn't have time to check out the pool or fitness room so I can't tell you anything about those.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHarrisonKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
308 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've stayed here before so I booked again since I knew that this hotel is situated in a great, family friendly area. Hotel is nice, not the best Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in, but still good overall. Front desk staff were very nice and friendly.

Room was nice, starting to show some wear but overall clean and beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was well stocked, good choices overall.

Pool area was okay---we tested the water and the temperature was just a little too cold for our taste so we didn't end up getting in. There is no hot tub. Fitness room small, pretty typical for Hampton Inn.

There is a new Mexican restaurant right beside the hotel and there is also a BBQ place as well. These 2 restaurants don't require you even crossing the street to get to them! Cabela's is .3 miles from the hotel---just directly across the street! There are many choices for dining and shopping all within a mile of the hotel.

Not the best Hampton Inn, but also not the worst. Location makes it perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvlifeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsheilaRunnels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
0.6 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West

Property: Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Address: 1400 Village West Pkwy, Kansas City, KS 66111-1876
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing