We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth the price of admission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Wenham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to joining up for a family reunion at another location. The Great Wolf Lodge was about $100 more than the hotel for our family reunion, but it came with two day admission for 4 people to a great water park, convenience, and a family friendly atmosphere.
We were delighted to learn the admission to the MagiQuest was only $12 for 4-full days (when you already own a wand...these will set you back another $12-20). This price was a bargain compared to the $12 for one hour we paid at a Tennessee location.
The pool side food service was very slow, but they could accommodate a gluten-free dinner with a hamburger/hot dog bun or pizza. And the superviser on duty at the pool-side bar was very, very friendly and helpful!
The regular queen-size room was comfortable and clean. They provide a "bathroom" sink in the room...convenient for groups getting ready, but makes a small bathroom. The deck only had one chair, but we only used it to dry our swim suits over night.
If you're staying a few days, there is a minor league baseball team, the KS T-Bones, within walking distance. Next-time we hope they're in town. Of course the Legends shopping area provides all the restaurants you could possibly need.
If you're traveling with girls, there is a girl focused spa. An adult pedicure was over $40, which I thought was a bit high...children's prices are more reasonable.

Room Tip: You don't want to be near the center elevators as people are playing MagiQuest right there from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    475
    345
    249
    128
See reviews for
1,302
13
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First, let me say that I applaud this company for attempting to develop what I would call a "Disney"-grade product. The concept, theme, architecture -- all of it is well put together and implemented, in general. Although I am a bit biased towards Disney, this chain gets an A- from me in terms of "concept". Service is another issue. If you are going to charge a premium price, the guest experience better back it up.

After coming highly recommended by several family friends and despite the sticker shock, we took the plunge with our two kids and decided to make a weekend out of visiting Great Wolf KC. We paid over $300 w/tax for one night in a kid-themed upgraded room, about $50 more than the most basic room we could have gotten -- and that was after a 20% discount after finding an obscure online coupon. Keeping in mind, of course, the price includes water park admission for day of arrival after 1pm as well as checkout day all the way to closing, if you choose to stay that late. Either way, not exactly cheap.

My entire family was impressed by the place when we first arrived. We even filmed the kids opening the door to the kid-themed room which had a mock-canvas tent area and bunk beds. Kids were over the moon. That was unfortunately our highlight of the trip.

We arrived just after lunchtime and hadn't eaten yet. We went to the main restaurant on site to see if we could scavenge up some lunch. No dice -- no host/hostess, 1 waiter (likely the bartender) was scrambling to serve several tables all by themself. After standing around for a few minutes waiting to get acknowledged, we wrote the place off and went to the waterpark area.

Waterpark is definitely a big plus. Lots of fun for the kids -- even a kid-friendly hot tub (not exactly *hot*, but warm enough). Some of the water features were showing a little wear and tear. Hopefully refurbishment is on their to do list.

Eventually found some food at the water park snack counter. Wife ordered a grilled chicken ceasar salad which we were told had to be cooked -- okay, fair enough, nice that it wasn't under a heat lamp like the rest of the food. Went to look for seats (suggestion: get a table early in the morning, people claim tables early in the day and hoard them, near impossible to find mid-day) which we eventually found on the complete opposite side of the water park -- just so we could sit and eat! Wife made the long round trip back to the counter and returned with her salad, only to find out that the lettuce and croutons had been pre-made and left in the fridge. Everything was soggy and gross. She ended up munching on our kids' meals, not wanting to waste another long trip back to the counter.

Skipped dinner on site entirely -- not wanting to risk it -- went elsewhere to eat. Ironically, when we went to check out, however, we had a dinner bill charged to our room (!) -- which they quickly removed. Signs posted everywhere that "hibernation hours are from 11pm to 7am". Nice of them to post, but the structure was obviously built with wood -- like one other reviewer posted, you can hear every step from the floor above. As luck would have it, someone was having a junior gymnastics competition in the room upstars at 10pm at night while our kids were trying to go to sleep. We didn't bother to complain, but an annoyance at the least.

Beds are tiny. Who puts a full/double size bed in a hotel where people are paying $200-300/night? Water park or not, this place was billed as a premium experience. Sleeping on a tiny double-size bed (if it was even that big) was less than enjoyable. Queen or King!!

And when we thought we were just a little underwhelmed by the whole experience this far, breakfast the next morning was the last straw. We arrived at the main reastaurant area for the breakfast buffet in the morning and found the complete opposite of the previous day's experience. The line was 20+ people deep waiting to check in with the hostess, not counting hotel patrons everywhere waiting their turn for a table. We overheard the hostess apologize to people that she was the only hostess that day and was working as fast as she could.

Once seated, we realized the entire restaurant wasn't being fully utilized -- they just didn't have enough servers. For a buffet? On a weekend with a hotel full of people?? And when we thought it could not seem more ridiculous, they started to run out of food!! We went back for some additional breakfast items only to find that half the buffet had run out of food. We chose to get some cereal instead for our kids as they were still a little hungry and took the last two clean bowls in the entire buffet.

We joked about the experience, gave up on eating any more and I told my wife I'd round up some coffee from the hotel coffee shop/bakery if she would take the kids back to the room and get dressed for swimming again. After going to the coffee shop and ordering some drinks (Mochas, etc) -- you guessed it! -- the espresso machine was broken. They had regular coffee and whatever was bottled for retail in the fridge. I laughed and went to the room.

My wife convinced me to write a letter to the company, which I rarely do, but after $300+ for one night.. I was a little more than just disappointed. I found the CEO's email after doing a little homework online (sorry, not going to share) and sent an email that said all of the above, almost verbatim. I never got an email rejection notice so I assume it made it, but wasn't sure until today. Never heard from teh CEO or any reps. Over two and a half weeks after I sent my email, I get a random phone call from the food and beverage manager at Great Wolf Kansas City asking me to return his call and tell him what went wrong with our stay. If you've bothered to read this far, does that not sound like a silly question?

All in all a nice concept, but the actual experience did not justify the cost by any stretch of the imagination. Add to this the locaition in KC is starting to look a bit tired. Our room had the first "tube" television that I've seen in a hotel in the past few years. I've been in Best Westerns that had newer equipment!

Needless to say, I don't think we'll be returning to any of their properties. If you want a great experience, go to Disney World or Disneyland. You'll pay through the nose, but you'll at least get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room -- structure made of wood, you can hear every step of those above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meestermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a family reunion set up that went bad when most of the family cancelled at the last minute. The staff at the resort were more than acoomodating and made sure that those of us that did go, had a great time. The food was good, the pricing was not unreasonable compareed to other resorts, and the kids were constantly occupied. It was a good time had by all, but I would suggest renting the cabana by the pool. That was definitely a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow Mills, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room was very nice, spacious and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly, everyone always said hi. Water park was a blast, lots of stuff for the kids to do. Breakfast buffet at their restaurant was terrific. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed the water park which wasn't too crowded, and the room was clean, but the air conditioner made so much noise we thought it was going to blow up! NIce amenities though, and a good visit overall.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are a bit louder. Food is very expensive, so bring some snacks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first experience staying at the Great Wolf Lodge and I was expecting way more for the price we paid. We found blood on our blankets and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the kids cabin. We felt like we were being nickeled and dimed for everything. For the price to stay there at least miniature golf and magic quest should have been included. We did love the pool and were grateful that the water was warm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkgs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

From several of the reviews we had read we had our concerns about this property being below average and severely overpriced. But all of our concerns were put to rest when we checked in.

The hotel is very nicely designed inside, but the lobby is on the small side. Love the availability of the luggage carts. Made it so easy to get everything in one trip. We had a family suite on the 4th floor. It was very quiet! Request the top floor if it is available. From what I was told by other guests on lower floors, they did not experience the same quiet we had.

The room was clean and very large. It felt like our room had been recently remodeled. The beds were very comfortable and although a small TV, it was at least a modern TV! Plenty of room counter space and lighting. The balcony is a nice added bonus.

MagiQuest is awesome for kids 6 and old. My son loved it! We loved working with him to complete the quests.

Overall the hotel is very clean from carpets, pool, lounge area, parking, etc.

The Game Room - We had great experiences with a couple of the staff in this area. They were so helpful and nice towards my son. He had his eye on a certain prize and the staff worked with him to help him get this prize.

The pool is great. I really liked knowing that my son was having a great time and everything was within his ability. Wish they had more lounge chairs outside.

The negatives:

Noise levels on the lower floors

I don't think they are justified charging the rates they charge and adding on a $12.99/night property fee. No one could tell us what that property fee paid for.

The staff's customer service across all the departments we encountered (pool, dining, bakery, front desk, housekeeping, MagiQuest, game room, and retail store) was hit or miss. I would say that it was more of a miss.

Specifics:
Housekeeping was inconsistent with making ALL three beds, changing towels (they actually folded up a dirty towel from the floor and put it back on the shelf), and changing dirty sheets. But they did not mind taking the tips we left from them each day. On the good side, housekeeping was always done quickly in the morning, maybe too quickly.

Bakery - The person working behind the counter just did not want to be helpful. She would not answer questions with words, just shrugged with her shoulders to point out the selection of this or that.

Restaurant - First, it took asking the omelet station if there was a host/hostess to seat us after waiting for 5+ minutes. Secondly, the server we had was just rude and cranky. In her defense it was towards the end of the breakfast service, but every request from napkins to water to silverware seemed to be such a hardship for her. She also screamed across the room to another service that his people needed their check.

MagiQuest - The person that we signed up with seemed to want our sympathy that he had to do that job. It was more of a chore for him and he obviously did not enjoy what he was doing.

Overall, we will will definitely visit again even knowing that the staff will be hit or miss. Wish they would open more in the western United States.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchalker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing