We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion gone awry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Family reunion gone awry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a family reunion set up that went bad when most of the family cancelled at the last minute. The staff at the resort were more than acoomodating and made sure that those of us that did go, had a great time. The food was good, the pricing was not unreasonable compareed to other resorts, and the kids were constantly occupied. It was a good time had by all, but I would suggest renting the cabana by the pool. That was definitely a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    471
    339
    245
    121
See reviews for
1,275
13
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow Mills, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room was very nice, spacious and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly, everyone always said hi. Water park was a blast, lots of stuff for the kids to do. Breakfast buffet at their restaurant was terrific. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed the water park which wasn't too crowded, and the room was clean, but the air conditioner made so much noise we thought it was going to blow up! NIce amenities though, and a good visit overall.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are a bit louder. Food is very expensive, so bring some snacks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first experience staying at the Great Wolf Lodge and I was expecting way more for the price we paid. We found blood on our blankets and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the kids cabin. We felt like we were being nickeled and dimed for everything. For the price to stay there at least miniature golf and magic quest should have been included. We did love the pool and were grateful that the water was warm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkgs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

From several of the reviews we had read we had our concerns about this property being below average and severely overpriced. But all of our concerns were put to rest when we checked in.

The hotel is very nicely designed inside, but the lobby is on the small side. Love the availability of the luggage carts. Made it so easy to get everything in one trip. We had a family suite on the 4th floor. It was very quiet! Request the top floor if it is available. From what I was told by other guests on lower floors, they did not experience the same quiet we had.

The room was clean and very large. It felt like our room had been recently remodeled. The beds were very comfortable and although a small TV, it was at least a modern TV! Plenty of room counter space and lighting. The balcony is a nice added bonus.

MagiQuest is awesome for kids 6 and old. My son loved it! We loved working with him to complete the quests.

Overall the hotel is very clean from carpets, pool, lounge area, parking, etc.

The Game Room - We had great experiences with a couple of the staff in this area. They were so helpful and nice towards my son. He had his eye on a certain prize and the staff worked with him to help him get this prize.

The pool is great. I really liked knowing that my son was having a great time and everything was within his ability. Wish they had more lounge chairs outside.

The negatives:

Noise levels on the lower floors

I don't think they are justified charging the rates they charge and adding on a $12.99/night property fee. No one could tell us what that property fee paid for.

The staff's customer service across all the departments we encountered (pool, dining, bakery, front desk, housekeeping, MagiQuest, game room, and retail store) was hit or miss. I would say that it was more of a miss.

Specifics:
Housekeeping was inconsistent with making ALL three beds, changing towels (they actually folded up a dirty towel from the floor and put it back on the shelf), and changing dirty sheets. But they did not mind taking the tips we left from them each day. On the good side, housekeeping was always done quickly in the morning, maybe too quickly.

Bakery - The person working behind the counter just did not want to be helpful. She would not answer questions with words, just shrugged with her shoulders to point out the selection of this or that.

Restaurant - First, it took asking the omelet station if there was a host/hostess to seat us after waiting for 5+ minutes. Secondly, the server we had was just rude and cranky. In her defense it was towards the end of the breakfast service, but every request from napkins to water to silverware seemed to be such a hardship for her. She also screamed across the room to another service that his people needed their check.

MagiQuest - The person that we signed up with seemed to want our sympathy that he had to do that job. It was more of a chore for him and he obviously did not enjoy what he was doing.

Overall, we will will definitely visit again even knowing that the staff will be hit or miss. Wish they would open more in the western United States.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchalker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family had a great time at the Great Wolf Lodge. We really enjoyed playing at the water park and there was plenty to do there for all ages. My kids are 6 and 3. The staff was friendly and helpful. At a lot of water parks, I feel like there are really too many rules and there is always somebody shouting at you not to swim here or stand there or touch that, but I didn't feel like that was the case at the Great Wolf Lodge. My one complaint is that they charge extra for just about everything but the water park. Mini golf, arcade, food, and some other kids activities. And the prices are somewhat high. For the amount you pay to stay there, it seems they should include some of those things or at least cut the price down a bit. After seeing the prices for food there, we decided to have all our meals elsewhere, but fortunately there were several very good restaurants located nearby. Overall, my family had a great experience and a very good time.

Room Tip: My kids ages 6 and 3 loved the Wolf's Den room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This Great Wolf Lodge is right near Legends outlets, The Nebraska Furniture Mart and the speedway. There are plenty of places to eat in the area so you don't feel like you're stuck eating at GWL. We checked in around 1pm. The check in process was slow and they only had 2 people working with a line full of people. Luckily our room was ready at check in. We stayed on the 4th floor and the room was clean and spacious.

The water park is great and kept our son entertained for hours. We only stayed one night and in the future I would definitely stay 2 nights. While they let you use the water park the entire day of your check out, it's nice to have a hotel room to go back to for naps for the kids.

Yes, GWL is pricey but if you like water parks and if you do the family/kids activities, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway, Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing