We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed here yearly since this location opened. We are there when the Nascar race comes to Kansas City. Everyone goes...daughters, sons in law, grandsons and of course my husband and myself. We get multiple room. Very close to the race track and the hotel runs a shuttle every 15 min on race day free for guests.

Hotel has a GREAT water park for everyone to enjoy. It's not just for kids..us older folks enjoy it as well. Nothing better when there's snow outside to sit inside by the giant bucket with a cold drink in your hand. Lots of things to do. Within walking distance are other restaurants and entertainment.

Restaurants are good. Family fare...nothing I would call cuisine.

Room Tip: In the east wing of the hotel, if you get an east facing room, your view will be the interstate pass...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverlyBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,276)
There are newer reviews for Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,841 - 1,847 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

My kids are ages 10 and 3. It's hard to go on a vacation and keep them both entertained. Well...The Great Wolf Lodge did! It is truley every kids dream. My kids still ask when we are going back and we will for sure be going back......soon! Its worth the money!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I live in NY and flew in to meet family for a weekend to spend time with the kids, 17,8, and 3. The kids loved the waterpark and all the activities. The food in the restaurants was pretty good for the moderate price. There are lots of options nearby and my wife and I went out for sushi on Saturday night after the kids went to bed. My only criticism is the inadequate elevators that are monopolized by the kids playing magic quest. This could be solved by placing some of the clues in the stairwell and posting a sign encouraging questers to use the stairs. Safety is a top priority and the staff was very attentive. We stayed in the largest family suite. For some reason there is no mirror in the bedroom which would help with everyone getting ready in the morning trying to crowd into the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and well serviced during the day. The remotes are reminiscent of movie on demand systems but there was just basic cable. MOD would have been nice for the kids after dinner, but no big deal, their exhausted at the end of the day anyway, and that's what it's really all about.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Great Wolf Lodge every year, at least once per year since they opened several years ago. The last time we went was over a year ago. The condition it was in left me hesitant to go back but, alas, the kids talked me into it. I will say they improved the cleanliness factor. But the hotel is still in desperate need of repair. The waterpark itself is a lot of fun. The hotel was poorly and cheaply built and is not holding up. The waterpark passes are included in the room rate but for the room you get it is overpriced. It's a cheap Super 8 room for a Marriott price. Same old noisy window air condition/heating units, noisy bathroom fans that come on with the lights, the shower clothesline for drying suits are gone, 4 towels and 2 washcloths in a room for 6. Try to get a room on the upper floor to escape the overhead noise, you can hear every move the people over you make. And the halls are loud with the Magiquest game sending kids running up and down the halls (and monopolizing the elevator). The restaurant is decent, we always eat there once and go out for the rest-lots nearby. The waterpark has lockers but they charge $10 so no one uses them. Instead and are allowed to hoard tables all day with their stuff. We had a hard time finding a table for lunch and only had 2 chairs. The lunch stand needs help. 2 people running it, 22 people (I counted) in line. It took until noon to warm up but after that, the temp was good. Except the bathrooms. They are freezing!! Over all it was fun, I just wish the hotel was so cruddy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjfosler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We took a much needed two night trip to Great Wolf with our kids 3 and 5. We couldn't have had a better experience, the staff, pool, lifeguards, everyone was wonderful. We will be back soon! The food was a little expensive but there are so many restaurants nearby it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindseyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I want to start with saying we live in the greater Kansas City Metro and debated between GWL overnight or just purchase passes for an afternoon at Coco Key to break up the boredom of Spring Break for our kids. We decided on GWL at a price of over $400 with tax for 3 adults and 2 kids in our room for one night. We have stayed at GWL in the past but has been a few years. The place is really showing its age. The rooms are worn. Old tube televisions. Kids enclosure had TV/VCR combo. So our three year-old was upset he could not watch his DVD's as bedtime for a treat. Bathrooms not as clean as I would like (hair in shower from previous customers). We took our younger kids to story time in lobby. The animated show was corny and hard to understand. I was bored. Followed by a boring story read by a pleasant enough young employee. Our kids then wanted to check out the arcade. We ended up packing up kids at 8:30pm and heading to Dave and Buster's. Much better choice.

The draw of GWL over Coco Key (especially if you are from out of town) is the retail and restaurants in the proximity. Coco Key sells day passes and is not a desirable place (old hotel renovated many times) to stay if you are visiting KC unless you really want to stay next to the Sports Complex (no retail or restaurants). Coco Key is more compact but better for our three year old. Next time we will skip GWL and just get Coco Key passes.

Sorry just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank landlockedinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our second trip to Great Wolf Lodge. While we all enjoyed our first trip, my overall opinion the first time was that it was a "so so" hotel with a "so so" staff and an "ok" water park. I'm not sure if they have been focusing on customer experience with their staff or if perhaps I was just more observant this time around but their staff was absolutely incredible! We had an amazing time! The water park was phenomenal and the staff was amazing....very kind, engaging and patient with my two daughters (8 & 5 years old). Our daughters had a blast and never wanted to leave!! We ate dinner in the restaurant and found the food to be good, and once again the staff was great! Ordered pizza to our room the second night and it was awesome, and well priced! We will definitely be back- one of our favorite family vacations thus far (which is saying a lot bc we were just at Disneyworld in January). A great place for a fun family vacation. There is good shopping and dining in the area as well. We had a blast at the T-Rex cafe just a block or so away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.5 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#8 of 21 in Kansas City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $232 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing