We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Choice”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

There is nothing unsafe about this neighborhood, as some previous posters suggested. It's filled with municipal buildings like the federal courthouse.
The hotel was clean, safe, appropriately appointed and well-maintained.

The front desk staff was very friendly, asking where we'd been for the day and engaging us in conversation. They were always there to provide directions or recommendations. Breakfast Room personnel were cheerful and attentive almost to a fault.

My only true complaint here is that the jacuzzi was not working and when we asked about it, we got a chuckle and a "sorry about that" in response.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    177
    99
    48
    39
See reviews for
134
124
29
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
deletedsoul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for a concert we were attending in town. The hotel is in a fairly decent part of town. There are no restaurants or attractions within walking distance, but we had planned on driving downtown, so that was not a concern. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Decent parking, good price - I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deletedsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Kansas since we caught a great rate for a weekend getaway.

While the hotel is isolated I think it’s a great option for someone wanting to save money but still stay in a nice hotel. You can quickly get on and off the interstate and get to downtown Kansas City or wherever you need to go. Similar hotels just a few minutes away were charging 2 to 3 times as much.

It was nice to have the parking garage as we were caught by surprise with a mid-April mix of ice and snow.

The included breakfast was standard Hilton Garden Inn. Okay for a quick start.

The rooms were also what you see from most recently constructed Hilton properties. Heating worked well. Bathrooms were large and bright. The beds were comfortable.

The WiFi was good and a speed test confirmed a speed between 2 and 3 MB/sec.

Anyone visiting the Kansas City area and wanting to save money should check this hotel out.

  • Liked — The price and quality of the hotel.
  • Disliked — The neighborhood around the hotel is sketchy.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed there for a week in April 2008. The hotel was great. My wife is in a wheel chair so it was nice to find a disabled room with plenty of space to get around in.

The front desk staff were all very helpful and the office staff were great when the printer in the business center went on holiday!

The hotel restaurant is good and not overpriced but there is little else in walking distance - Downtown is only 10 mins away by car and there is plenty of parking.

We went to concert at the sprint center and there was plenty of parking at only $10.

Would absolutely recommend this to any one, especially any one handicapped

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Isolated location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This was a decent hotel in a not so great area. Easy to get to, check in staff was wonderful (Deloris) and parking was simple.

Room was clean and bed was comfy. Pool was clean and warm, workout room was simple, but really warm.

We couldn't find anything to eat in the area. There was some authentic mexican, and a church turned into a casino type building, but we don't like risk. KCMO is only 10 mins away and we had a good time at the Power and Light District. They have beautiful outdoor seating and a huge dance floor in the middle of the block. I think they have entertainment Thurs - Sunday evenings.

We ate at the Gordon Biersch and it was fantastic. Good wine, Good service, and great food.

The hotel felt safe, but i wouldn't walk around in that area at night.

Internet isn't wireless in the rooms, but it is in the lobby and eating area.

  • Disliked — Area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I have stayed at many Hilton Garden Inns and this one is good, but the problems with the hotel are this.

The area the hotel is located in is not good. There are not any restaurants in walking distance. If there are I did not see them nor would I want to walk there at night.

The restaurant needs to expand the bar. The bar consists of two small stools. It would be very difficult to eat at the bar. Unlike other Garden Inns which you could easily eat at.

The weight room is great with two treadmills and one low impact machine. The room was clean and the tv remote was missing in the room. The pool is indoors and small. You will not be able to do laps there.

The staff is great and the room was comfortable. The only knock on the room was the chair was too low.

I did have one maintenance issue and that was resolved very quick.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmcc916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miles away
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on Sat, Nov 10. It was a last minute booking, there was some sort of rodeo in town, not to mention Garth Brooks. We were surprised how clean and comfortable the room was. The location leaves very little to be desired. I work in downtown KCMO and KCK needs some cleaning up!
The front desk staff were helpful & friendly. My husband left early Sunday morning for the Chiefs game and I slept in, no problems with the maids trying to get it or the manager trying to run me out.
The bed was almost too comfortable - my back hurt the next morning. Oh yes, the floors do not offer much of a noise barrier. The guests directly above us were having a 3AM rodeo of their own! We heard everything!
Other than that, we have no complaints. Parking was easy and free. We didn't eat at the hotel, I'm not even sure there was a restaurant. We didn't need anything from the front desk. There was an iron & board, toiletries, microwave, mini-fridge, nice TV. NO complaints.

  • Liked — spacious, clean rooms
  • Disliked — KCK is grubby, it's not the hotel's fault
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#48 of 108 in Kansas City
296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
2.3 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#8 of 108 in Kansas City
2,205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Address: 520 Minnesota Ave, Kansas City, KS 66101-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing