We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything worked well at this hotel from checking in to quality of the room. Good equipment in exercise room. Not much more I can say as everything clicked at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac5384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 623 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were traveling through and decided to stop in Kansas City. We had been to Kansas City before and knew which parts of town to avoid. This hotel was walking distance to the nicest part of town with great restaurants & shopping. Our room was very clean, quiet, and the staff was great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were attending a family wedding over the weekend. The hotel was centrally located to the wedding and not far from the National WWI museum. The staff was great. The only hiccup was they were out of shampoo so they gave everyone 2 conditioners, which was odd.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The process of booking/checking in was simple. However the front desk staff was rude at times. When we walked in 3 of them were standing there chatting. Two of them just kind of looked at me as if to say, "what?" The man standing at the desk was slightly friendlier and checked me in. The night shift front desk staff was worse. With all the other hotels in the area, next time I would probably choose a diferent one. Also, there is no complimentary breakfast. The food was a little below average and cost $10. Also, wait staff was not very helpful. The room was decent for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel was OK. Wasn't anything special. Seemed like a bad part of town. There was an armed guard at the door. I usually don't see that. I probably won't stay here again. I felt safe but it didn't seem like the greatest part of town. Nothing against the hotel. It was certainly one of the nicer ones in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I requested one room with a king bed. Upon check in, my 'request' was only a request and I was given a room with two double beds. This was an inconvenience because my husband is 6'5" and does not quite fit in a double bed. According to the website, through which I booked the room, this hotel offered a free continental breakfast. According to the hotel staff, this feature is only offered to certain guests and I was not one of them. Upon entering the room, the toilet had been used, but not flushed and the shower had long black hair strands (I am a blond). My husband and I only stayed the one night. We were in town to see old friends. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-KCK, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just concluded a three night stay at this location. On the positive side, the staff was great, and friendly, the room was clean and quiet and the hotel had free secured parking. This is a great place to stay so close to downtown and the major attractions of Kansas City, and it's priced at a fraction of the price of the downtown and midtown hotels. If you have a car, this is a good location and priced economically.

On the down side, our room had serious hvac issues. While the air conditioning worked, the room was very humid, and the dampness permeated everything in the room. In fact, the door of the room was very tight due to the dampness, so that it wouldn't close by itself. Although, that may have made the room quieter, because we never heard another guest during our stay.

While cleaning staff did did a decent job on cleaning the room, though the little dirty secret of spraying down glassware in the room with furniture cleaner reared its ugly head. As I was drinking water (just once), I could smell and taste the furniture polish. Yuck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TUFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-KCK, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
307 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#13 of 21 in Kansas City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
10.7 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Address: 520 Minnesota Ave, Kansas City, KS 66101-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $104 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing