We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Staff was ok but not great. Parking area not clear of ice and fell and hurt hip, still hurts next day but should heal, glad im not old. Room and bathroom are a bit small, wallpaper peeling and paint on door frame has tons of peels still has old tube style tv, internet drops often. breakfast really bad, buffet with quality of a free breakfast, had voucher for being hilton gold, service at breakfast was bad, no menu, just pointed to buffet, this is not the case at other hilton gardens. I wouldn't stay here again, might only because the price was low.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck29355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-KCK, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    164
    92
    42
    33
See reviews for
117
119
28
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is just an average HGI. It is in a bad location though. I wouldn't go out at night within walking distance.
If you are a business traveler, please be aware that the wireless internet is extremely slow and drops frequently.
One plus is that there always seemed to be a friendly face at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior_Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-KCK, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and we're sorry you had trouble with the internet connection.We are addressing this issue and hope the next time you're in the area you will stay with us and see an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a really nice property. They staff was exceptionally friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. the breakfast was typical far, but good. The only drawback is there are no restaurants in the area. I also did not feel comfortable outside after dark. It seems as if this is a transient area or one that is going through revitalization.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvln_d_wrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were in town during the NASCAR weekend. The rooms are dated & are in need of updating but our rooms were cleaned very well every day (stayed 3 nights). Had trouble with the inroom temp control but as the temp outside was 50-60 we just turned it off & in room temp was fine. The hotel staff was very friendly & accomadting with directions with where we wanted to go. Our only big disappointment was there was nothing to do within walking distance of the hotel. Downtown KC, Missouri was only about 10 minutes driving time, so not so bad if traffic is ok. No free breakfast. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegoodfood899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was in town to visit a friend and couldn't get a room at the Marriott (which I work for in Indy). It was race weekend and no discounts. But stepping into the hotel I was greeted by Delores and Tammy with smiles. Tammy checked me in promply and sent me off to my 2nd floor rm. not before Delores telling me which would be the best pick for dinner Kansas City Bar- B- Q would be her first choice. Which was Gates! I loved it too!!!!

The staff made sure I was having a good time and was seeing what I needed to see in their city!

The only complaint I have was housekeeping. When she knocked on the door we told her come back in 30min because we were leaving..We were out most of the day and when we got back the room hadn't been touched..nothing like walking into a dirty hotel room... I was so disappointed! Then we left for dinner to give her a chance to clean it .Went to Gates...we came back and still not done...so we went to find her and then have her clean it. I was livid!!! A damper on the stay BIG TIME..

Overall, I enjoyed my time in the city...As far as the Hotel- Delores and Tammy made up for housekeeping in smiles....Thanks Ladies!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while we were in town for the American Royal BBQ and the staff was wonderful. I called to get early check-in and the lady that helped me was so friendly and made sure everything was taken care of. We had a room on the top floor which was nice and quiet. We also got the breakfast package with our room and it was well worth it. This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel and I am sure it will not be the last. Thank you Hilton Garden for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4lorlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel has not been remodeled since the 1990s...hence the box t.v.s and the wallpaper. It's also in a not so hot neighborhood and you have to parking is only available in a parking garage...albeit well lit. The staff, great/quiet night sleep, and delicious breakfast (included with my gold HH status) is the only reason I gave this hotel 3 stars, but come with no expectations of a new, or updated room. About 10 minutes from downtown KCMO.

Room Tip: upper level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 108 in Kansas City
2,113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#19 of 108 in Kansas City
1,054 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#56 of 108 in Kansas City
276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Address: 520 Minnesota Ave, Kansas City, KS 66101-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing