We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We rented two separate rooms for this 3-night stay while in the area for a girlfriends weekend in Kansas City, MO.. My friends rented a room with two doubles. I redeemed HHonors points for a king suite I chose this location over the Hilton Presidential because of the lower point redemption value and the economical rate . The drive time from Kansas City International Airport was about 20-30 minutes each way. The property is not far from the interstate and is adjacent to the Reardon Convention Center. The HGI offers free secured parking with access by hotel room key. There is a business center, pool and fitness room with two treadmills and a stair-master. There is complimentary Wi-Fi as well. The restaurant offers the custom made-to-order breakfast seven days a week and the variety of food was well-prepared. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean. The rooms are really dated and Hilton really needs to upgrade, i.e. dated furniture, carpet, etc. The sleep quality in my 2nd floor suite was awful with the humming noises from both the refrigerator and AC battling each night. We spent very little time in our rooms so the accommodations met our needs. All in all, there was really nothing outstanding about this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-KCK, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms but we are glad you enjoy our breakfast at our restaurant. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 629 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

tho a few minutes away from KC Mo,,it's worth the drive as rooms are spacious, and clean, staff are friendly a price very reasonable for an inner city hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackpine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here during the All Star Game week and enjoyed it. Room is a good size and very quiet. Free parking and free internet. Breakfast is not complimentary, but had it for one of the nights I was there and it was very good.

There are not a lot of options near the hotel to do or eat, but you are about 2-3 miles from downtown and a quick drive to Kauffman Stadium (the ballpark is not in downtown so you will find yourself driving a lot).

The staff at the hotel was very helpful. This was my second time at the hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

room was nice, bed was very comfortable. nice view of fireworks from our room. staff was really freindly, probably the nicest in any hotel we have been in to date. free cookies and fruit at front desk from 5pm -11 pm was nice touch and the cookies were really good. would definitely stay there again. only draw back of the place is its on the Kansas side of KC and there is nothing to see there. absolutely nothing. but you can get to the good stuff pretty easily as the hotel is just off the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

TThe location is pretty convenient to K.C. MO, but there is nothing around this hotel other than a convention center building. The drive over the bridge from downtown K.C. to the hotel is about 5 minutes so it's very close. The staff was very attentive and accommodating and special kudos to the wait staff who served breakfast. They were actually pretty fantastic! My orange juice glass was constantly refilled with a smile. The only downside can be remedied if the rooms get a refresh. The tv was something out of the early '90s, and the furniture looked beat up. The core customer service component is outstanding as the employees genuinely care about their work, but to make this hotel top notch, it needs an update it stat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Bed, comfortable. Parking, alright. Staff, rude. Bedroom, not clean. Bathroom, falling apart. Room overall, definitely needs an update. Entry, pretty. Pool, looks like a family hotel (good thing). Little store, useful. Dining, hmmmm...... questionable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake_Maritza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Kansas City B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I understand and respect your concern you did not feel respected from staff at our hotel. I was trying to locate your reservation but did not find one under your name in our reservation system.I would love to know which department it is the Front Desk, Restaurant, Housekeeping or Engineering and I will be happy to address this issue. Please feel to contact us and ask for FOM or GM. We are looking forward talking to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

A fairly standard, though slightly dated feeling garden inn. Not the best of locations unless you are using the convention center. Good customer service for the most part. EXCEPT for the fact that the hotel was incapable of getting a burnt out lightbulb replaced for me, despite three separate phone calls to the front desk. In the big scheme of things, not a huge hairy deal...I just swapped one out with another lamp. But if something so small didn't get addressed...how do they deal with big problems? And what if somebody hurt themselves doing it themselves because hotel didn't step up? Customer service fail.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Kansas City B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

You are our valued guest at our hotel. In behalf of HGI Management Team we would like to apologized for the issues you have in our hotel. We would like to thank you for letting us know the problem so we can address it to our maintenance department and the frontdesk. Please let us know if there is anything we can do so to make you stay at our hotel again. Feel free to contact our hotel and ask for Front Office Manager or GM. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
308 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#13 of 22 in Kansas City
113 reviews
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Address: 520 Minnesota Ave, Kansas City, KS 66101-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $100 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing