We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
669 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a car, and we were looking for an inexpensive hotel somewhat close to downtown KC, MO. Downtown KC, Kansas doesn't seem to have much going for it, but our location seemed safe enough. And it was easy to get in and out of the hotel and go sight-seeing.

Our non-smoking king room was on the back side, looking at the parking garage. As a result, it was very quiet even with the window open. Parking was free. The room was over-perfumed when we arrived, but opening window helped reduce the odor. The bedding had been cleaned with unscented products, which was nice.

There was a pitiful analog TV that produced a mediocre picture. The senior room rate did not include breakfast (there was an ad about their cooked breakfast on the reservation, but I hadn't noticed it didn't say free or complimentary when I booked), so we did not try the restaurant. The bed had a very heavy comforter for summer, and there was no blanket in the room; the front desk got one for me when I asked. Wireless Internet got one bar in our upstairs end room, but I got strong connection with my laptop plugged into the CAT5 outlet.

Nowhere in the room were there instructions for the Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, so I did not know we had it (I had never stayed in a Hilton Garden Inn). The first night I had a miserably soft bed and slept poorly. The next day, I saw the instructions in one of the elevators. Sure enough, the control was hidden behind a flap on the mattress where you need a light to see it, and it was set to soft. The firm setting worked wonders for me and made my remaining stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    141
    75
    30
    18
See reviews for
91
98
22
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
191 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We enjoyed one night of superb service in this well laid out and immaculate this hotel. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms, good recipe for a great sleep. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. There is a sweet touch of delicious snacks on the front counter. An excellent business centre to catch up on some work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My fiancee & I decided to stay here because of our Hilton honors membership and It was a pretty cool hotel. Staff was nice upon check in and even tho we really spent literally no time in the room I was pretty satisfied with it until Saturday when we went to have breakfast at the slightly overpriced buffet (which wasn't that great) there was a nude woman eating who I don't believe was a guest and they had to call the cops. Now maybe that has something to do with the downtown location. Idk. Rest of our weekend went off smoothly until checkout &I accidentally left A bag a recent purchases which I didn't discover until I was back home well LONG story short after a lot of calls to the hotel and a few calls to Hilton guest services they mailed me my belongings. Outside of that we had a decent stay. Just make sure you don't leave anything behind! ! And shout out to Bridgette @front desk!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiboo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
472 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I last stayed at his HGI in 2008 while traveling on business in the Kansas City Metro and had a pleasant and quiet stay. And, for this reason, and, importantly, that it is very easy to get to when navigating the highways here, I returned for two days/nights.

Staff are very friendly and courteous as before! They do serve a good spread for breakfast from cold to hot and fresh cooked and a limited, but tasty, menu for dinner; nothing gourmet but good. Should I pass this way again I will stop and stay the night or two.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I was in Kansas City for the Visalus National Success Training at the downtown Convention Center this past weekend and because this event attracted 15,000 people into the city, we couldn't find a room near the venue. So we booked this hotel.

And it was really great!

The staff were so accommodating, always pleasant, laughing, engaging and professional. The rooms were clean - average rooms (as in not fancy but clean and very comfortable). We had two double beds and everything was clean, comfortable. The room came with a small fridge, coffee maker & microwave. Free Wifi. The in-hotel restaurant food was good and affordable. And free parking.

I would not hesitate to stay there again.
I had no problems at check out. My bills was as indicated at the time of booking. No surprises.
There are plenty of close amenities for all your necessities as well.

To the Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn: Thank you for making our stay at your hotel a great one!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SexeeKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Being in a business that utilizes hotels often for business purposes, not just for myself but often times for business associates.
The HGI in KCK has some of the friendliest staff I know. This emulates from the sales staff, front desk staff, and house keeping. Even the restaurant staff is on line with the goals established by the hotel manager.
We have had the honor to work with the HGI over the last several years, and have never been disappointed.
Another plus is it's central local to everything that is going on in both the Missouri side and the Kansas side.
the culmination of a great staff, comfortable rooms, and attention to detail puts the Hilton Garden Inn in Kansas City Kansas at the top of my list.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carylumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The 80s are calling and they want their hotel back. Seriously. The tv is old and outdated. The room is just your basic room. Location is easy to get to. Nice bathroom...otherwise just ok. Restaurant was not impressive, too many great restaurants downtown to eat at this hotel. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conbonKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#51 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway, Kansas City
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Address: 520 Minnesota Avenue, Kansas City, KS 66101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing