We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's evident that this property is new. The rooms and dining area are very clean and new looking. Breakfast included is a great feature of this chain. The staff were very friendly. Very, very close to KUMC...walk across the street and you are there. There's a five guys burger restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ell08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
22
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very convenient to KU Med with discount pricing when visiting patients and a free shuttle if you mind the 1 block walk.

The service was very good and the design was the best I've seen Holiday Inn offer. I was really hoping for a good stay.

The pool isn't much at less than 3' deep all the way around. We skipped it.

The mattresses were uncharacteristically firm. I actually felt body aches the next day. Perhaps a pillow top would help. Otherwise the floor would be just as good.

The food was typical to below given the watery eggs that lacked substance the first day, the bad juice and coffee. The lack of food period our second day was a real disappointment. We're not that picky however my daughter and I walked 1.5 blocks to Starbucks instead. I think I'm being realistic given what we're paying but the orange juice tasted like sugar water and the coffee tasted like plain hot water.

I can blame corporate for the bad juice and coffee but this location let me down by being out of so much the second day. The complementary breakfast is one of the reasons we stay at Holiday Inn Express. If it's no good we may as well stay elsewhere.

There are a great many interesting restaurants within a couple blocks to check out.

Given the location, decor and service I may be willing to give them another try but am not sure.

Room Tip: Ask about discount pricing when visiting patients at KU med
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadN2Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear RoadN2Wheels,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to know that our location was convenient for you and the design of our property suited your needs. I apologize that the food served was not up to par. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest our your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service I experienced was excellent. It was a midnight check in, but the desk clerk was great. The hotel has only been open for 6 months, so the whole place is in great shape. The covered parking was a nice bonus because of the snowstorm that hit. I have stayed at many other hotels in this chain and paid less for the same accommodations, but it is right across from KU Med and the only hotel in the area. The elevator requires key card access to the floors with rooms, which adds another layer of security.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHSRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had to make a quick, short notice, trip to KU Med. Called hotel, talked to JIM. He was great from beginning to end. Check in for great, he asked about us, our trip. Hotel is new, lobby on 2nd floor, which is different. TV did not work in first room, after not fixing it, they moved us to another room. They have a small area selling snacks. The A/C control unit on wall is bright. We had to cover it . Had to go KU MED early, so did not see the breakfast area. Only problem is we have to go back, and I pay $10 more due to short notice. Oh well. Great place and Five Guys under it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertlowrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is a great hotel very clean and the employees are very friendly. Great location if you want to visit the same city for both states Visiting the Missouri part is great because of all the restaurant, museums and store. Yo can walk at night eat in a good restaurant and listen to the music or you can just walk inside beautiful mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The friendly staff and clean, comfortable room helped make a difficult situation less stressful. I stayed at the new Holiday Inn Express near the KU Med Center during my mother's recent extended stay at KU. Every staff member (especially Miss B) went above and beyond to make my stay pleasant. My only hope is that a cheaper rate can be offered. Even though a slight discount was offered, expenses add up quickly when a loved one has an extended stay at the hospital.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisiana_visitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a family member admitted to the KU Medical Center so we were very glad to find this HIExpress so close. It is right across the street. Our room fronted on Rainbow Boulevard, but we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. We liked the new, large, stylish rooms although I thought the walk-in shower was a little bit cold & drafty. The staff was incredibly nice. "Miss B" at the breakfast bar was so cheerful and friendly and we could tell that everyone really appreciated her. The housekeeping staff was also excellent. It is very pleasant to walk up 39th Street to see all the little shops and lots of great restaurants. We plan to stay here for every future visit to KC, even when there's no need to be near the medical center.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, very quiet. I'm guessing the 2nd floor would get some noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
1.0 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
#6 of 21 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
Address: 3932 Rainbow Blvd, Kansas City, KS 66103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Located acroos from KU Medical Center. We have 2 Meeting rooms with 1500 sq ft of meeting space. Located close to Westport and Country Club Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing