We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service I experienced was excellent. It was a midnight check in, but the desk clerk was great. The hotel has only been open for 6 months, so the whole place is in great shape. The covered parking was a nice bonus because of the snowstorm that hit. I have stayed at many other hotels in this chain and paid less for the same accommodations, but it is right across from KU Med and the only hotel in the area. The elevator requires key card access to the floors with rooms, which adds another layer of security.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHSRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
23
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had to make a quick, short notice, trip to KU Med. Called hotel, talked to JIM. He was great from beginning to end. Check in for great, he asked about us, our trip. Hotel is new, lobby on 2nd floor, which is different. TV did not work in first room, after not fixing it, they moved us to another room. They have a small area selling snacks. The A/C control unit on wall is bright. We had to cover it . Had to go KU MED early, so did not see the breakfast area. Only problem is we have to go back, and I pay $10 more due to short notice. Oh well. Great place and Five Guys under it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertlowrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is a great hotel very clean and the employees are very friendly. Great location if you want to visit the same city for both states Visiting the Missouri part is great because of all the restaurant, museums and store. Yo can walk at night eat in a good restaurant and listen to the music or you can just walk inside beautiful mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The friendly staff and clean, comfortable room helped make a difficult situation less stressful. I stayed at the new Holiday Inn Express near the KU Med Center during my mother's recent extended stay at KU. Every staff member (especially Miss B) went above and beyond to make my stay pleasant. My only hope is that a cheaper rate can be offered. Even though a slight discount was offered, expenses add up quickly when a loved one has an extended stay at the hospital.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisiana_visitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a family member admitted to the KU Medical Center so we were very glad to find this HIExpress so close. It is right across the street. Our room fronted on Rainbow Boulevard, but we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. We liked the new, large, stylish rooms although I thought the walk-in shower was a little bit cold & drafty. The staff was incredibly nice. "Miss B" at the breakfast bar was so cheerful and friendly and we could tell that everyone really appreciated her. The housekeeping staff was also excellent. It is very pleasant to walk up 39th Street to see all the little shops and lots of great restaurants. We plan to stay here for every future visit to KC, even when there's no need to be near the medical center.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, very quiet. I'm guessing the 2nd floor would get some noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
246 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall this hotel is actually very nice and a different model from the typical HI Express you'll stay at. But exterior road noise detracts from this being a top-rated property.

The hotel is locating in a developing area, far enough away from "problem" areas of KC yet still close to most anything in either KC KS or KC MO. There is an evening security guard manning the first floor which is unusual, but a comforting factor since after dark it can be a bit dodgy.

Having a 5 Guys burger joint in the lobby is far out, and convenient to get a great burger if you are hungry.

However be aware that Rainbow Blvd is a very busy 4-lane road with lots of traffic particularly during morning and evening rush. It dies down later in the evening, but a traffic light in front of the hotel can be bothersome with cars and trucks starting and stopping constantly. The hotel is not very well insulated from this road noise, so strongly advise you request a room facing the back parking lot.

Also be aware there is a new building just starting to be constructed immediately adjacent to hotel which is probably going to take a year or 2 to complete. Again, this will add to the exterior noise so avoid the front of the hotel and the north side facing the construction and get a room facing the parking lot.

Beyond this, the hotel is actually impressive, with all the modern and new HI Express decor and amenities.

I especially want to shout out to the front desk staff who are exceptionally nice and professional, and in particular went above and beyond in assisting me with an unfortunately incident in the middle of the night requiring me to change rooms.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room facing the parking lot (in back) because outside noise from Rainbow Blvd a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the new Holiday Inn Express near the KU Medical Center for an overnight getaway. An open two story lobby lead to a second floor registration desk that gives you the feeling of a large city location. We were continually engaged by the friendly staff throughout our stay. The rooms were very spacious and the décor was more than expected with a modern/upscale feel. Although close to the Plaza and Downtown, we decided to stay in the 39th Street neighborhood which was filled with eclectic shops and local/independent restaurants and was within easy walking distance of the hotel. We will be recommending this location to anyone staying in the area! Thanks again to the staff!

Room Tip: King Suites are very spacious and include a walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.9 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
Address: 3932 Rainbow Blvd, Kansas City, KS 66103-2961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Located acroos from KU Medical Center. We have 2 Meeting rooms with 1500 sq ft of meeting space. Located close to Westport and Country Club Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing