We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smoky!!!”

Hollywood Casino at Kansas Speedway
Ranked #7 of 51 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hollywood Casino is the place for you! We'll add dazzle to your days and life to your nights with free admission, pulse-pounding games, incredible restaurants, and great giveaways. We've got 100,000 square feet of excitement, delicious dining and the kind of red carpet service you can only find in Hollywood. Get that winning feeling with 2,000 of the hottest slots around or challenge lady luck at Hollywood's 52 table games, including a live poker room open seven days a week. Our next big winner could be you! Must be 21 to enter and dine.
Newton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very smoky!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is very nicely decorated, but so smoky my throat hurt by the end of the evening! Why are state-run casinos not smoke free? Also, I thought the machines were pretty tight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHarrisonKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    87
    71
    27
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kansas city missouri
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“afternoon at the casino”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Casino while looks good, had very few people playing the games. Food was expensive and all the tables with few exceptions were high limit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terrytman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean fun place”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The casino is very clean and bright. The noise level is not to high and staff are friendly. Parking is easy in the garage and close.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CQ80Meters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It isn't Hollywood”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Located next to the Kansas Speedway and a growing attraction area on the West end of KC with shopping and dining. The Casino has a nice atmosphere with a Hollywood theme. Attached parking garage makes parking convenient. One drawback is the lack of a connecting Hotel. Slots are very tight so don't plan on winning much. State owned casino says it all. Not really worth a visit unless there is a race going on that you could see from the Turn 2 sports bar. I was not too impressed with this casino. I will stick to frequenting the casinos on the Missouri side.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Very nice Casino, but a little out of the way”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Casino is nice, but the slots are extremely tight. They are a little out of the way so when we come into town from Oklahoma we stop by here before going on to our other Casino Hotel of choice. They have a few Slots that are set to give you play for your money and you have to hunt for those…which are usually always full; the majority of the slots are set so tight you just don’t get play for your money. They do have a few of the Konami Machines that everyone loves, but most of them are so tight you just cannot enjoy playing here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Kansas Speedway also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Kansas Speedway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing