We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit”

Strawberry Hill Museum & Cultural Center
Ranked #8 of 49 things to do in Kansas City
Attraction details
Kansas City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed the tour and information provided. It is a short but informative tour. It's a bit out of the way but worth finding. They provide information on Polish influences on the area. A great time on a rainy day.

Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went at Christmastime when all the festive decor was present. That added an extra dimension. The history here is exceptional. I grew up in KCK and have lived in the area all my life,so some local history was very well received. a unique experience

Helpful?
2 Thank jackieontherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A place to get an immigrant flavor”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Many major cities have areas that are little ethnic enclaves, that still retain the flavor of the early 20th century rush of immigration from Europe. At this museum and home, you will experience what it might have been like coming to Kansas City in 1910 from Croatia or Slovakia. A very nice place for those of us that have roots in the old country to see what our grandparents were faced with...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank tfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a look into the past”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

set in what was a orphanage in the late 1800's the museum reviews the cultural past of the diverse region of Serbians, Greeks, Croatians, and Russians that lived in the area of Strawberry Hill

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ET-MCMLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great way to learn about the ethnic heritage in Kansas City”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We toured the museum and culture center over the holidays and enjoyed the beautiful nativities that adorned the chapel. We began our tour in the chapel with our guide giving us a brief introduction on the history of the chapel, how the orphanage came into being and the history of the museum and culture center. The tour was very informative, however we did feel rushed as we went into each of the rooms in the Hall of Immigrants. It was very hard to look at all that was in each room from the different countries that were represented. The rooms were beautifully decorated with Christmas decorations and other items from the cultures that have lived in the Strawberry Hill District. We understand that during the Christmas season that others are thinking the same, and just took in all that we could with the anticipation of returning during a time that is not so busy.

We did end our tour with a stop in the tea room. Perhaps during the holidays, the best time to stop in here would have been at 1:00 PM when they opened to get the best selection of the wonderful desserts they serve here. However, we did enjoy the few that we had to choose from along with our coffee and tea.

We will definitely be back to check out the things that we didn't have time to see. The museum is only open on Saturday & Sunday from 12-5, and the tea room from 1-4.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyPlatteCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawberry Hill Museum & Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Strawberry Hill Museum & Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing