We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue”
Review of Sporting Park

Sporting Park
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
229 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went here for the inaugral Flatlands Festival in September.Parking was good,access to stadium was quick and hassle free.Staff were friendly and informative.Great venue for music concerts.Will definetly go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnAislingSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    37
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Venue.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I attended my first soccer match in Sporting Park, and I was very impressed. Access is very easy, the stadium is well laid out, and the seats were comfortable for the very short time I was seated. The service was good, a decent variety of food and drink was available, and the Kansas City crowd was great. I've been to many soccer venues over the years and this one rates near the top.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MO.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Backward in KC”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

In October 2013, we attended US men's national soccer event. Even though we paid almost $300 for 4 seats, we were able to see little of the game. Soccer fans in Sporting Park stood constantly during the game and only sat in the seats during the short intermission. Even standing for the first 90 minutes, we were able to see only a small part of the field and had to watch the game on the large TV screen at the end of the field. Fans sat for about 5 minutes in the second 90 minutes which was enough for us to discover that if all sat in their seats we would have been able to see the game. Unfortunately, fans in front of us refused to sit, even when politely asked to do so. I can understand the desire to stand and cheer great plays, but that is not what happens here. According to the usher, fans stand in front of their seats routinely here. So buy the cheapest sits available if you want to attend for the atmosphere. Finally, the concessions are very expensive (almost $9 for a regular beer).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for Soccer”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Sporting Park in Kansas City for the United States versus Jamaica World Cup Qualifying match. What a wonderful venue for the event. With only 18,000 seats it is an intimate setting that holds sound well. The seats are a very cool design that allows you to stand and lean against the back, while staying out of the aisle. All the seats have backs, making them comfortable. Our seats were at the midfield stripe (section 130) row 2. They were excellent, great views of the action. I hope I can return for another match in the future.

Helpful?
Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
180 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice facilities, but small and in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Came here for a US mens national soccer team and was excited to see this stadium. The pitch was in great shape and the asthetics of the stadium were nice, but it felt really small. Not small as in it provides an intimate expereince, but like a minor league baseball field - from a distance it looked nice, but the details were dissapointing.
It was also out in the middle of absolutely nowhere - stuck next to a NASCAR track surrounded by box stores and parking lots. There wasn't anywhere to go after the game except to your car for the long drive back to town. Pretty anticlimactic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjohnston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sporting Park also viewed

 

Been to Sporting Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing