We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun water park!!!!”

Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make summer's best memories at Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark. Experience unique adventures like King Kaw, the longest inner-tubing ride in the Midwest and Boogie Bahn, the only surfing ride in Kansas City. Plus challenge an uphill water coaster, surge through whitewater rapids and cruise a lazy river while the little ones explore our specially designed play pools. At Schlitterbahn parking, tubes, life jackets and boogie boards are free! You can even bring your own picnic. Its the most fun!
MO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fun water park!!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We love this place, the water rides are fun & unique. You are allowed to bring in your own cooler for lunch & drinks....can't say the same for a lot of other places. My ONLY complaint about this place (hence 4 stars instead of 5) is the shower/bathrooms. They are not cleaned & kept up very well throughout the day. It should be checked & maintained every 30 minutes at least. Whenever we go there's at least one disgustingly filthy toilet bowl, puddles of standing water, hair all over the shower floor, toilet paper & paper towels thrown on the floor. Freezing cold water for end-of-the-day showers. It's hard to get changed into dry clothes or put your bags down with puddles of standing water everywhere. The last time we went the bathroom attendant closed the bathroom almost 15 min. before it was supposed to close...perhaps she was ready to call it a day. My kids & I don't even shower before we leave anymore because its just so gross. Other than this one are, we have a blast here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sherinongratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the park! just so you know we listen to our guests, we are planning on using the off season to work on several of the drains in the park to fix the issue you mentioned. Also, we look forward to welcoming you and you family back next season for a super exciting year. With addition of added park amenities and the opening of the tallest water slide in the world. 2014 is looking like it will be an exiting year for Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    131
    82
    50
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below average value”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

For the money spent for our recent excursion, I felt it was just an average experience at best. What they do offer is fun and somewhat worth the lines but there's just not enough to outweigh the cost versus other similar options.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJFUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. With over a mile of inter-connected rivers that ranges from giant waves to rapids, a multitude of water slides including the Storm-Blaster Coaster Slide, the Boogie Bahn Surf Ride and 2 different different play structures with 13 mini-slides Schlitterbahn provides a great experience that many people enjoy over and over again.

If that isn't enough, next year the park will be adding Verruckt (Insane in German) the aptly named, soon to be, tallest water slide in the world and the world's first speed-blaster water slide. Also, don't forget that we offer discount tickets online. In addition, tubes, life jackets and parking are free for everyone and picnics are always welcome inside the park, saving you even more on your fun filled trips to Schlitterbahn!

We hope to have you as our guest again some day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Awesome Water Park....and more yet to come”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is unlike any other warterpark we have been to. Is has all kinds of action going on and more yet to come. We spent the better part of the day, basically closing the park. I like it that you can take your own cooler of food and drinks, pick a spot and then go have some fun. No worries about people taking your stuff or spot. The people were friendly and I have never seen so many life guards at a waterpark. The rides were all great and you have a tube to ride everything and it is all connected, you hardly have to ever get out of the water, except to ride a few water slides with your tube. My daughter enjoyed the torrent river and raging river. They have attractions for all ages. They also have plenty of places to get food, drinks and snacks if you like and full equiped gift shop, even for things you might have forgot to bring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your visit and review of the park! Hopefully we will see you all back at the park next season for the opening of Verruckt (Insane in German) the aptly named, soon to be, tallest water slide in the world and the world's first speed-blaster water slide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, several rivers, fun in the sun”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited in the middle of the week in August after school had started. It was not crowded and there were plenty of free tubes. They had several rivers including rapids, lazy and wave. The rivers were the most unique i have ever experienced. They were long. The wave river was our favorite. Just enough waves to make it interesting but still relaxing. There were 6 slides. There was also a slide that took you to the river with rapids. The under five crowd enjoyed the heated pirate themed pool. We all thought it was inappropriate and weird they had a swim bar attached to a kiddy pool. They would do better business if they made it a kid themed bar. I like adult only pools myself but this was not an adult only pool. It was attached to a kiddie play pool. There was another play section for preschooler and toddler with a train, frog slide and a duck. On another topic
We really liked that little kids could go with their parents on most slides. We loved the double intertubes with a special seat with a bottom in it for little kids. It really made life easier for everyone.
For an extra charge they had a zip line. There were places to eat at through out the park but you could bring in coolers and picnic. They main complaint that kept me from giving this an excellent rating was the price. In 2013 the price of admission was $39. It's cheaper to get into Worlds of Fun/ Oceans of Fun and there is more to do. Six Flags is cheaper and you get more as well. For what you gt the price needs to be more like $17-20.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianlovesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the park and the review here! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit this year. Please remember that if you are comparing pricing that we are considerably lower than the other attractions you mentioned when you compare full gate prices with full gate prices and still cheaper when you are comparing discounted online admissions between each park. Also, at Schlitterbahn tubes, life jackets and parking are free for everyone and picnics are always welcome inside the park so everyone saves!

In 2014 Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark will also be adding the tallest water slide in the world and the world's first speed-blaster water slide! This in addition to all the other attractions you mentioned provides a unique once in a life time experience that many of our guests enjoy time and again. We hope to see you again soon some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Busy Park / Receptive Management”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I are first year season pass holders and are discussing purchasing passes for 2014. Our visit on Saturday August 10, 2013 wasn't a good one, but Brittany the manager on duty, probably saved it for us. Started off with an entire family line jumping when we were getting wrist bands. (do yourself a favor and watch carefully for this.) We arrived at 0950 and were 3rd in line, until the gentleman in front of us let his entire family in front of us. In my opinion, if your entire family isn't present, you should have to wait. Anyway later on in the afternoon, a female next to us continued to smoke in the non smoking area, so my wife went and got security, which was a mistake. All the security guy did was treat her unfairly and berate her for contacting him. Needless to say, it was off to see the Manager on Duty time. Brittany listened to our concerns and assured me our issues would be addressed to the best of the parks ability. Brittany deserves kudos from her managers, because had she not helped us in the way she did, no season passes would have been renewed. This led me to believe the park management does care about guests, especially season pass holders that drive 225 miles to attend the park. The rest of our time at Schiltterbahn was good, considering it was very busy, but we expect that so it's not an issue. Anyway, we look forward to our next trip to Schlitterbahn, and thanks again to Brittany for addressing our concerns.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waterpklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the park! We want to remind you that as such you receive early entry and free sodas one hour prior to park opening, on specified days during the next season. This in addition to other great benefits and discounts in the park.

Also, we are happy to hear that Brittany was able to make your visit to Schlitterbahn enjoyable. Please know that she is an amazing manager, and better yet is just one of the many amazing employees that make Schlitterbahn the fun and exciting place it is. We look forward to your continued visits as season pass holders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City also viewed

 

Been to Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing