We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Season Passholder Review”

Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City
Ranked #6 of 37 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make summer's best memories at Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark. Experience unique adventures like King Kaw, the longest inner-tubing ride in the Midwest and Boogie Bahn, the only surfing ride in Kansas City. Plus challenge an uphill water coaster, surge through whitewater rapids and cruise a lazy river while the little ones explore our specially designed play pools. At Schlitterbahn parking, tubes, life jackets and boogie boards are free! You can even bring your own picnic. Its the most fun!
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The waterpark is fun place to go. We bring our picnic everytime- other wise the food is the typical overpriced, unhealthy choices. Either go late or go early to get a picnic table or plan on not having one.
The bathroom and changing facilities are not super clean and the floors are not dry- (Maybe they should put fans in to help with this...)
That being said the rides themselves are a lot of fun. But plan on spending several hours there to get get your moneys worth and dont forget your sunscreen...

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your advise for other guests. Just so you know we listen to your suggestions, we have already installed fans in the bathroom to help create circulating air and dry things out a bit. Also, here are some addition suggestions that guests might like to know. Folks looking for picnics tables can normally find them up by the King Kaw river. For some reason these tables are rarely used even on the busiest days. Guests trying to get the most for their admission should plan to arrive at the park early as lines for slides are always short at the beginning of the day. Then you can focus on the rivers were there are no lines for attractions. Last, weekdays are always a great day to attend the park. Thank you and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water slides"
in 45 reviews
"lazy rivers"
in 22 reviews
"torrent river"
in 20 reviews
"swim up bar"
in 19 reviews
"bring your own"
in 30 reviews
"food and drinks"
in 33 reviews
"season pass"
in 11 reviews
"wear water shoes"
in 10 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 7 reviews
"park opens"
in 7 reviews
"tidal wave"
in 6 reviews
"rent a locker"
in 6 reviews
"double tubes"
in 5 reviews
"free parking"
in 20 reviews
"entire park"
in 6 reviews
"life guards"
in 7 reviews
"only complaint"
in 7 reviews
Filter

341 - 345 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been season pass holders for the last 2 years and try and go about 2 times/week. Since it has opened a few years ago, it keeps getting bigger and better. We've really seen a friendlier, more helpful, and very attentive staff throughout the park. We always bring in a cooler with plenty of drinks, sandwiches, and snacks to save money. We've only had a few funnel cakes ($5) and they've been good. Big crowds/long lines are to be expected on weekends and during July more than the rest of the summer. Crowds start to thin around 5pm. Tables are sometimes hard to find in the shade, so it helps to get there a little before they open. Lockers are available to rent. After just experiencing Wisc. Dells (Mt. Olympus) water park, our KC,KS Schlitterbahn is awesome in comparison. It features a good variety of slides, waves and wading/play areas for all ages to enjoy. Water shoes, sunglasses, hats, and plenty of sunscreen help to make the day enjoyable. Except for the Boogie Bahn, shoes, hats and sunglasses can be worn on slides/in pools. Parking is free. Money can be put onto the wristbands at the main entrance. It is very close to several hotels, restaurants, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Kansas Speedway and The Legends shopping outdoor mall.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark! We look forward to your next visit to the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have loved Schlitterbahn since I used to visit the parks in Texas before I moved to KC. They already have a great waterpark, and with the free parking, no extra fees for any of the water attractions, you can't go wrong. You can even bring in your own cooler with food and drinks! You can also buy thier refillable cup and use it over and over for $1.50 a refill. We have our old ones from the Texas park form years ago, and they have no problem filling them up! It's a class act over there and everyone is great to deal with. It's family frendly and the lifeguard staff is ON IT. My wife is a former lifeguard instructor and is always "on alert" when we get near water. But this park is one of the few places where she can just relax because she can see the training in the gaurds behavior. She knows that they have it under control.

We have been season pass holders since the open in 2009 and the park is growing better and better. Once the trees mature and the grounds are filled out, it's going to hard to beat this place. The only think I dislike is the short season here in Kansas. Not thier fault, but it ain't Texas.

Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

You think we are fun now just wait, coming soon, we will be opening the tallest water slide in the world! We are so happy that you enjoy the park. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food sucked, the pizza was overpriced and cheaply made. It also took them an hour to get two terrible pizza's. You can bring in your own food, but since we are from out of state, we didn't really have that option.
The water park had plenty of nice fun rides. The boogie board ride was fun. Ladies make sure to tie your bikini top and bottoms tight, because they will fall off. Hang freaking 10. The rollercoaster water slide was new and pretty fun. The awesome Torrent River was pretty cool. It lets out a really big wave. They had a decent kids area.

Thank Wilson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit to the park, not withstanding the issue with your food order. We are currently working on creating additional food locations in the park to take pressure off White Water Grill and speed up the ordering process.

We look forward to your next visit, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been to many waterparks and this ranks up there as one of the cleanest and most fun. I didn't do my research beforehand or I would have known to bring along a pull cooler with food and drinks. They allow it and if not you are faced with buying a 12 oz. Icee for $5.00, a pretzel for $5.50, and so on, you get the picture. Bring your own stuff or they gouge the hell out of you! On a good note, you don't have to rent rafts they are just there for the taking. The river rides are great, a little bit of thrill combined with a little bit of relaxation. All the kids had a blast!
We will be back-this time with our food and drinks.

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your visit to the park. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip. Besides the free tubes don't forget that life jackets and parking are also free to everyone as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City also viewed

 

Been to Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing