We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Waterpark But Sure Wasn't Much At All Schlitterbahn And It Was Packed!”

Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make summer's best memories at Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark. Experience unique adventures like King Kaw, the longest inner-tubing ride in the Midwest and Boogie Bahn, the only surfing ride in Kansas City. Plus challenge an uphill water coaster, surge through whitewater rapids and cruise a lazy river while the little ones explore our specially designed play pools. At Schlitterbahn parking, tubes, life jackets and boogie boards are free! You can even bring your own picnic. Its the most fun!
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Waterpark But Sure Wasn't Much At All Schlitterbahn And It Was Packed!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

3-8-13 My first time coming here to Schlitterbahn waterpark me and my Mom my younger Brother and younger Cousin went last summer on July,28th 2012 it was very very packed that day and very hot your feets will burn if you don't wear flip flops and I got sunburned bad the next day wow how foolish of me to forget the sunscreen opps big mistake it was painful any how there was not much at all to do or ride out here even finding a place to sit was difficult for us the place is about the same as Oceans of Fun in Kansas City except you can bring coolers for lunches and so the place is still doing construction I think at the far end of the park they should be building more waterslides or somthing but overall I love the park like any other my favorite ride out here would have to be the river raft waterfall rides and the lazy river very fun have you guys went on the waterslide that you sit in the tube and the escalator pulls you up under this tent very cool I think this park would be a four star for being fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the park. Just to add a little history on the development park here in Kansas City to your comments, the park opened in 2009 with the longest “torrent wave” river in the world and has just gotten better and better since then. All planned phases for the water park are now finished and have been since the beginning of the 2012 season. This year we are finishing up the landscaping on the west end of the park which will give it that finished look. Just like all good parks, we will continue to add new, fun, and exciting attractions in the years to come, but the park now boasts over a mile of interconnected rivers that range for smooth, to rapids, to our own torrent wave river as well as many slides and other attractions. We can’t wait to have you visit the park again. Nothing is more Schlitterbahn that free tubes, free life jackets and free parking. More than a water park, a Schlitterbahn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    131
    83
    50
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun for Everyone”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The lines are not too terribly long. At times it can be hard to find a tube to float on but usually you don't have to wait too long before one becomes available. There is plenty of seating and a picnic area where you can bring in your own lunch and have a picnic during you day. Very family friendly place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hootlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing & Sales at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Schlitterbahn! We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our invitation to bring your own picnic into the park. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love Schlitterbahn”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have season passes and go every weekend. It's cheaper to just buy passes and then you can go whenever you want and don't feel like you have to stay all day to get your monies worth. Will be purchasing passes for 2013 also

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mnu GRad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good design”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been there twice. The second time was better because more of the park was open. We liked the fact that you can go from one attraction to another without getting out of the water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jhawk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wear sandals!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

While the water rides were fun, they wasn't much difference between them. No wave pool was a bummer. The worst part was unlike OOF there is not grass in this whole park. Guests are forced to walk on white hot concrete. Poorly designed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Manager at Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the great advice. We also recommend that our guests wear appropriate footwear inside the park in our frequently asked questions section on our website. If guests do not bring their own footwear we also provide reasonably priced water shoes throughout the park so know one has to go barefoot if they don't want to. We are also, adding additional shade structures again in 2013 but since this is a new park there are going to be some uncovered walkways in the park until the trees get a chance to grow some.

We do however have grassy areas in the park and while we don't have a traditional wave wool we have our Wave Driven river system that will give you some ups and downs and take up to an hour to ride around the entire system. Plus, don't forget all the other amazing rides and slides here at Schlitterbahn Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City also viewed

 

Been to Schlitterbahn Waterpark Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing