We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good home base for race fans.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
New Albany, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good home base for race fans.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is located in Kansas City (Village West), close to Legends at Village West, Kansas Speedway, and Livestrong Sporting Park. Local attractions also include Hollywood Casino at Kansas Speedway and Schlitterbahn. it is right across from the Kansas Speedway and next to The Legends shopping center. Everything to make your race weekend is right at your door. There is great shopping and food. The rooms are large and clean. The carpet needs cleaning in the hallways. it is showing just a bit of wear. The breakfast is ample and quick so you can get going. Parking is a bit confusing to figure out when it's a race week. But it's OK. Try to park in the front. Yes, you're so close to the track you can hear the cars running. They are quiet at night, not to worry. There is no grab rails in the tub. I found the curtin rod strong enough to use for grip upon exiting. Don't care for the soap or shampoo, bring your own.

Room Tip: Set the temperature about 4 degrees lower than you want. It 's easier to walk to shopping as par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the review Edward. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had fun at the Race as well. Did your driver win?
We truly value your business and appreciate you choosing to stay with us! Please come back and see us again when your travels bring you back to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    151
    55
    35
    19
See reviews for
224
132
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for NASCAR Race weekend. The location is great with shopping,restaurants and other activities. The hotel and outside areas are clean. The staff was very friendly and knowledge of the area. The rooms were clean but becoming a bit dated and needing some touch ups but that isn't that big of a deal. Great fast breakfast in the morning as well. I had 4 different types of rooms and if you are wanting a bit more room I would recommend the Extended Stay Suite. It was very roomy compared to the 1 bedroom suites which aren't as large as you would expect. Overall a good stay with no issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us!
We truly value your business and apprecaite you choosing to stay with us!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again when your travels bring you back to Kansas City!
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked at two room suite and was surprised at how small the rooms were compared to other hotels. Seating in the suite was one chair, and a desk with a roller chair. This was not what I would expect with sleeping for 4 people. The TV hung sideways and we had to prop it up to watch it straight. It made no sense to me that the door between the rooms was glass with a sheer cover. This provided no privacy or the ability for one room to stay up late while others sleep. Chris at the front desk was the saving grace, our fridge was not working and he carried up a new one for us to the third floor. He also got us spoons and forks from the pantry, Thanks! The laundry was free of charge and the breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank druggist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw. We do sincerely apologize for the concerns you had about your guest room and appreciate you bringing these thoughts to my attention.
I am so glad that Chris was available to assist you with your needs and I assure you he will be recognized for a job well done!
We truly value your business and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope you come back and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice. The lobby was appealing, the rooms were clean, and the service was good. The walls were a little thin or my neighbors were awfully noisy. Luckily they settled down by 11 am. The location is good. Plenty of shopping and places to eat near by. Would definitely stay again and recommend as a nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindiLouWho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We do apologize for the discomfort you had due to noisy neighbors. We understand how frustrating that would be.
We are glad to hear overall you had a nice stay. We value your business and appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
Please come back and see us again when your travels bring you back to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very happy with our stay. Newer hotel. Nice staff was always asking if they could do more. The location is awesome for spending, time at Legends Mall, Hollywood casino, race track etc. Can walk to the mall or baseball. We will be back! The bowl of mints are a great touch!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the side away from the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truely value your business and appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting Kansas City.
Please come back and see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were scheduled to stay two nights in this hotel and after being here 30 minutes decided to move on the next morning. We would have moved on that night but the outside temperature was over 100 degrees and we had a lot of luggage. First of all, the suite is long and narrow, furnished very darkly and almost had a dungeon like ambiance. It is very difficult to move the luggage cart from the front door to the room hall because you have to make a jog that forces you to go by the front desk. Anyone standing at the desk has to move to let you by. But, worst of all is that the room was filthy. Clearly it had only had the middle of the room vacuumed as there was an old used bandaid in full view between the couch and chair under a small end table. The bathroom has piled up dirt in the corners of the bathtub grout. The toilet had what I presume was either urine or fecal stains near the grout on the toilet and in the grout. There were three long black hairs stuck to the body of the toilet bowl, not ours. The staff was friendly enough, but the whole atmosphere gave us a negative vibe. Just before we were to leave the next morning there was a knock on the door by someone who I presume was the housekeeper for the floor asking when we were leaving. The gentleman quite frankly looked like he had just been released from jail. Unlike other Country Inns I have stayed in, these housekeepers are wearing street clothes, not uniforms and no name badges. The breakfast area was sloppy with spilled food on the counters. The pastries were in cellophane packaging. The yogurt was in a community type bowl. The bagels were small and stale. I think the very telling thing was that when I went out to pack my car in the morning there was a shopping cart with an old tire in it on the grass near the front door. That kind of said it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff and myself, we want to sincerely apologize for the inconviniences your encountered during your recent stay with us. We never like to hear negative feedback from any of our guests but we must use these situations as a learning tool to help improve our operations and hotel. We appreciate your bringing these matters to our attention. I have shared your reveiw with the entire staff and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure these situations do not occur again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay with me further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff at the Country Inn are very professional, friendly, and helpful. We have travelled & stayed in many other hotels, but no one gives you the attention that the desk staff does here. The rooms are very nice with a very comfortable bed. The hotel was at capacity over the weekend of our stay, so maid service was a bit slow. The complimentary breakfast is another nice feature with a cheerful and efficient manager.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauryn B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Suzi, on behalf of myself and the entire staff of the Country Inn & Suites we thank you for your kind review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We are honored you chose to stay with us and truely appreciate your business!
Please come back and see us again soon when your travels bring you back to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
1.2 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#8 of 21 in Kansas City
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Address: 1805 N 110th St, Kansas City, KS 66111-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#3 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Kansas City at Village West, KS is located just off I-70 and is ideally situated near Kansas City's best entertainment venues, such as the Legends Shopping Center and the Hollywood Casino. While you stay with us in Kansas City, take advantage of our hotel's services, including free Wi-Fi and a complimentary breakfast buffet. In the evenings, you'll appreciate the relaxation provided by our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool and hot tub before you retire to your spacious room or suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Kansas City At Village West Hotel Kansas City
Country Inn And Suites Kansas City At Village West
Country Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing