We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Junction City
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
248 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Cramped bathroom”
Reviewed June 17, 2008

There are positive and negative aspects to this hotel. The hotel is new and was very clean. The lady at the front desk was very friendly upon our arrival. The hotel is located in a nice area of Junction City near restaurants and stores.

Our room had a broken lampshade. The sheets are fitted but are not big enough to cover the entire bed all night. I hate it when the sheets leave a part of the mattress exposed.

But the biggest drawback is the bathroom. The door opens in and the second you open it, the tub is just inches from the door. You have to get in the bathroom and shut the door to get to the sink. But there is very little room between the door and the tub and the toilet. You have to squeeze up next to the tub to open the door. Or I actually stepped in to the tub to shut the door. I hated this bathroom. The door needs to open outward or open towards the tub instead of the sink.

If they fixed the bathroom problem, the hotel would be a good one. But I think we will stay at the Courtyard next time. We stayed there last year and the Courtyard has huge bathrooms, gorgeous furniture, lots of space and is not much more expensive.

The continental breakfast was not that great. But it was included in the price, so that was nice. But they do not offer anything hot.

The train tracks are right next to this hotel and the trains going by are very loud. We stayed in room 218.

There also is not much space to put your belongings.

So this hotel has positives and negatives.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
30
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at this motel one night enroute to the West. Since it was fairly new I expected it to be clean, and it was. Strangely, though, the air conditioning unit was noisy. I would stay here again. However, I have one warning to someone who might have limited mobility, such as using crutches or a walker. The bathroom was very small, and the door was hinged on the wrong side of the frame. This means the person using the bathroom has to step between the tub and toilet just to get into the bathroom and shut the door. The door has to be shut just to use the sink. I didn't see any other rooms, so I can't say all rooms are built this way. For most people this might be a minor thing. Everything else was fine, and the breakfast was pretty typical, with boiled eggs, pastries, and such.

  • Liked — close to interstate, new and clean
  • Disliked — poor bathroom design
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Went for Christmas with family and booked through Expedia. Won't use them again cause they said the hotel credited our reservation when we got caught in a blizzard and couldn't get there on the date...and no cell-phone battery left to contact them, then Expedia failed to credit my credit card.

But, the hotel did give me discounts on the block of rooms that I had reserved for family. The hotel is new, and very clean. All the staff was very helpful and nice. I would recommend it, especially since there's not much in the way of budget hotels in Junction City that don't have a problem. I've stayed at the Econo Lodge east of town, and it's nice, but run-down and shabby and it's smells slightly of curry. The Holiday Inn Express west of town is by the Eckardt factory so everything there smells like sausages.
The Comfort Inn by downtown isn't very nice in the service area and the pool is cold. So do yourself a favor and stay at the Quality Inn....you'll be surprised.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bhedge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

The room was WONDERFUL. The King sized bed was huge and tall, lined with extra pillows and a duvet. The room was very clean and the furnishings nice. There was a microwave and a good sized refrigerator. The continental breakfast was also very nice with assorted pastries, breads, bagles, cereals, juices and hardboiled eggs. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The extreme cleanliness and comfort of the room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blackdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I guess I need to learn that when a city has the word "Junction" in its name, then it is pretty likely there's a good reason. This hotel was very nice, one of the best Quality Inns we have visited in some time. The room was clean, the bed was super. The bathroom was pretty cramped (could not open door if a person was at the sink). We had three trains pass by the room the night of our stay - up until about 11PM - and the first one this morning came by about 630. We are on the second floor - even numbered room, so I would suggest if you stay here to request an odd numbered room & you might not have the railroad entertainment. Other than that - absolutely no complaints.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Proximity to Train Tracks & Odd Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Clean rooms. Great beds. Happy employees. If you are wanting nothing fancy this is your hotel. Easy access with Wal Mart within walking distance

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machesney Park, Ill.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

A Pleasant Stay...We Booked this Hotel On-Line through Military. Com Hotels...We stayed at this Hotel (Quality Inn) in Junction City, Kansas on June 8th , and June 9th and checked out the 10th...We were looking for a Hotel ,Medium priced and nice and Clean and close to Fort Riley Army Base, being we were there to visit our son on the Base nearby. And this was part of our Vacation plans. We had made Reservations at this Hotel a month prior to our Vaca. and as I had hoped we were pleasantly surprised...Upon arriving about 5:00p.m. Friday . Our room was as planed awaiting us and clean. We did have a small problem with the remote control for the T.V., and the Bathtub Shower Handle was missing a screw to keep it securely in place and when we told the Front Desk Girl about it she was very help-full and they got Both things fixed within an hour. So we were happy with that...No problem...The scenery out our window was not the best though, I think it was a swamp or something. But we just kept the curtains closed and the air conditioner on. So it didn,t bother us too bad. But I would have wished for a nicer view. But the price was right. So... The Continental Breakfast was just OK. Stay away from the stale bagels though. The Muffins, juice, coffee, and danish and cereal wasn,t that bad . And was sufficient till Lunch time. The Best thing about the room was for sure the beds. They must be those Big Pillow Top Beds and was quite Comfy.. I wanted to take it home with me.The staff was nice and helpfull, and we were happy with our stay. We ate at a near-by Resturant in Junction City called El Cassador and it really was quite good and reasonable. Their is alot of near-by Resturants , Gas Stations, and a Wal-Mart and Dollar Stores and it is real close to the Fort Riley Army Base, which was the reason for our trip. So we were satisfied. Hope this review is helpfull to who-ever may read it... We drove 600 miles from Machesney Park, Illinois to get there, so we were Tired, Hungry and ready to relax, and this Hotel served that purpose for us. P.S." Support our Troops and their Families"...Hooah...

  • Liked — The Big Comfy Pillow Top Beds...
  • Disliked — The Continental Brealfast...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyBoop57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Junction City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western J. C. Inn
Best Western J. C. Inn
#3 of 15 in Junction City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 15 in Junction City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Junction City Inn & Suites
Junction City Inn & Suites
#7 of 15 in Junction City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Junction City
Courtyard Junction City
#5 of 15 in Junction City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Junction City - Ft. Riley
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Junction City
WoodSpring Suites Junction City
#11 of 15 in Junction City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn near Fort Riley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn near Fort Riley

Property: Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Address: 305 E Chestnut St, Junction City, KS 66441-9466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Junction City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Junction City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn near Fort Riley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 70, Exit 298. Hotel is near the Fort Riley military installation, home of the 1st Infantry Division, nicknamed the Big Red One. Nearby businesses include Geary County Convention Center, C.L. Hoover Opera House, Milford Lake, Kansas State University,Foot Locker Distribution Center, and ConAgra. 15 minutes away from recently updated Manhattan Regional Airport.Numerous activities are available in the area, such as boating and fishing at nearby Milford Lake, hiking in the beautiful Flint Hills and touring historical museums in Fort Riley. Visitors will enjoy browsing the stores at the nearby shopping mall and dining at various restaurants and lounges located in the surrounding area.Hotel amenities and features include:•Free Deluxe continental Hot breakfast with eggs, biscuits w/gravy and waffles•Lobby Coffee Station•Complimentary WIFI •Free local calls•Free newspaper (USA Today M-F)•Business Center•Exercise Room•Seasonal Outdoor Pool•Guest Laundry Room. Guestroom amenities include:• Coffee Maker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee• Refrigerator & Microwave• Hair Dryer • Iron & Iron Board• 32" LCD w/ HBO• Curved Shower Rod with multi Setting Shower Head. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Quality Inn the perfect way to start your day.Guests of the Quality Inn will want to check out the seasonal outdoor pool and exercise room. Business travelers will appreciate the on-site Business Center, which offers a computer with Internet, as well as access to copy and fax services.All guest rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. The Quality Inn hotel is the perfect destination for business, military and leisure travelers. Make us your home away from home when visiting the Junction City, Kansas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn near Fort Riley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Junction City
Junction City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing