We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing special exhibits in addition to "standard" fare

The Historical Society is commended for maintaining such a diverse holding of artifacts of early... read more

Reviewed February 1, 2018
CDC2sail
,
Springfield, Missouri
Wonderful Exhibits

A friend told us about the Smithsonian Traveling Exhibit on Water that was at the museum so we... read more

Reviewed January 11, 2018
babyt102010
,
Manhattan, Kansas
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
4
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
4
5
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2018

The Historical Society is commended for maintaining such a diverse holding of artifacts of early Kansas history. The museum staff is engaging and helpful. There are frequent talks to students or special groups throughout the community. They also have remarkable special exhibits - currently one from the Smithsonian regarding water.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank CDC2sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018

A friend told us about the Smithsonian Traveling Exhibit on Water that was at the museum so we drove over from Manhattan to see it. We were quite impressed not just with that exhibit but with the entire museum. The building used to be the high school and it is wonderful to see it put to such a good use. We were met at the door by a very kind volunteer who made us feel very welcome and was quite helpful. Upstairs we visited with another staff member who was very enlightening as well. We would highly recommend a visit to this museum and be sure to take the kids as there are many hands on things for them to participate in.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank babyt102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

I enjoy taking my kids here there ages are 9, 3 and 2 all three of them enjoy themselves and love to see the things there

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank mizraimw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

Great museum and great history. Love learning about how my family lived back in the day. Can't wait to return with my spouse and hear more history

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank joshheathert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

If you are curious about the history of the Junction / City Ft. Riley area - this is a great place to learn. They have lots of antiques donated from citizens and great stories of the past. The docents are ready to explain or give a tour. And they love showing families around. Nice place.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews