We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the alternatives, or so we are told.”
Review of Super 8 Iola KS

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Iola KS
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Iola
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were in town for a wedding. Our relatives told us the Super 8 was not only the newest motel in town, it was in a good location. It is next door to a 6 screen theater and a Conoco gas station. I guess all things are relative.

The 2-story motel sits right off Highway 169 at Highway 54, perhaps half way between Kansas City and Tulsa. I suspect that many of the travelers who stay here are just passing through, but we were there for three nights and found it to be fine for our needs.

The rooms are basic but given the age of the motel, very clean. Air conditions are the old style; built into the wall below the window. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms utilitarian, the amenities (TV, ironing board, coffee maker, microwave) about what you would expect for a rural motel costing us only $59.00/night with our wedding group rate.

The breakfast was perhaps a little sparse, but free of course. A bowl of apples and oranges. A choice of granola or frosted flakes. A selection of white bread, wheat bread or plain bagels. Either orange juice or apple juice. Danish in cellophane and yogurt limited to whatever floated in the ice bath. Lest I forget, they did have the ol' waffle maker and a tray of biscuits with a hot tub of gravy.

Relatives told us the Best Western has seen better days and Crossroads has a sketchy history. So this is the best option in a town of limited options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! We hope you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you consider us again the next time you are here. Thank you for taking the time for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very clean. Great breakfast in the morning. We were there during the tornado outbreak and the manager made sure we were all safely gathered in the hallway until the storms passed. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxParrothead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your response! We are glad your enjoyed our breakfast and felt safe here at our hotel while the storm was passing through. We hope to see you guys in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Overall good stay. Lets guests know when booking room bext to workout facility. You will be woken up early by thumping noises!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your response! We appreciate it very much! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! We try our best to give guest a heads up when checking into a room that may be close to any disturbances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Staff made our visit worth it. we were not going to stay there again after last year's experience. It is apparent that they have changed owners! Thanks.
Miss "K", made it worth it! She was very engaging and caring about what was happening.
The room cleaners also were on top of the game this time...courteously caring. THANK YOU K!!

Room Tip: It is Iola, no real noises to contend with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56208Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks for your feed back! We really enjoyed having you guys here! You guys were a blast to have! We are glad you guys gave us another chance. We have switched ownership, Thank you for noticing! Glad you guys enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you guys in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Room was clean and no surprises for that price range. Pillows were hard though and front desk people unfriendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shieldsk10, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Iola KS, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks for your review! However, certain measures have been taken about the front desk people. Here shortly we are switching to gel pillows! Hopefully you will find them to be more comfortable on your next stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iola
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
17.2 mi away
Nest Extended Stay Hotel - Chanute
19.7 mi away
Super 8 Chanute
Super 8 Chanute
#4 of 6 in Chanute
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Knights Inn Chanute
Knights Inn Chanute
#1 of 6 in Chanute
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Inn Iola
Regency Inn Iola
#1 of 1 in Iola
9 reviews
18.5 mi away
Guest House Motel Chanute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Iola KS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Iola KS

Address: 200 Bills Way, US Hwy 169 and 54, Iola, KS 66749-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Iola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Iola
Price Range: $81 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Iola KS 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Iola KS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Iola
Super Eight Iola
Iola Super 8
Iola Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing