We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Centerville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very clean & comfortable”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I experienced a friendly, affordable and very clean motel. I stayed in a queen suite with a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 117rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    118
    77
    38
    20
See reviews for
115
27
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KC MO
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

I stayed in a Queen suite for 2 nights and I really enjoyed it! There are not a lot of great chain hotels in this part of Kansas, so I was very pleased to see the Microtel name. It is a new building, right on the main road through town in front of a Wal-Mart and near plenty of dining. Luggage carts are available, which was a wonderful and welcome sight! There was no road noise - the room was very quiet. Compact, clean and very pleasing design - modular, modern furniture and plentiful lighting, large bath, free high speed wireless, and even a cute, comfy lounge area in front of the window. Highly recommend for your next stay in Indy!

  • Liked — Room design
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

The room was adequate though small. Clean. Everything worked. The air conditioner was quieter than many similar in-wall units I've seen. Efficient check in/out, but neither person I encountered was even mildly personable; I've used kiosks with more personality.

The public areas were not so pleasing. Filthy floors. The hallway smelled of stale smoke like an old bar. Forget the "breakfast" unless you like prepackaged muffins and sugared cereals.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Twoprofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Independence hotels

Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I have stayed here for the last few Inge Festivals. It is clean and is located not too far from the college (about 10 minutes). I would bring my own pillows if you can. Wal-Mart is right behind it, and there are eating places close by, including Sonic. It is not far from the downtown area. The staff was friendly and helpful. I am staying there again for the 2008 Inge Festival. I have stayed at one or two others during the festival. This one seems to be the best maintained of those I stayed at (couldn't get into the Apple Tree, so never stayed there), but there were still some minor problems. Nothing that would cause me not to stay there, but certainly not a 4 or 5 star hotel. They have some food in the morning (cereal, fruit), coffee, etc.

  • Liked — Best option available for Inge Festival
  • Disliked — Bedding
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I'm in town on business. It seems like a newer hotel. Three floors. Its on the west side of town and easy to find. Near a new Walmart.
The room is small, but clean. Bathroom is clean, and the sheets are clean and white. Small TV, but it works, and they have wireless and wired internet service. It reminds me of a new "Motel 6" room.
The breakfast bar has coffee and juices. Also, small packs of cereal and prepackaged bagels. Not a wide selection of breakfast foods, and just a few fruits. The Sonic close by was a better choice.

  • Liked — convienant to work
  • Disliked — just very plain
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjspod64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.9 mi away
Appletree Inn
Appletree Inn
#4 of 6 in Independence
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Independence
Super 8 Independence
#5 of 6 in Independence
161 reviews
15.2 mi away
Best Western Bricktown Lodge
Best Western Bricktown Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coffeyville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Coffeyville
67 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coffeyville
15.3 mi away
Rest-Full Inn
Rest-Full Inn
#4 of 4 in Coffeyville
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence
Address: 2917 W Main St, Independence, KS 67301-8439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Microtel Independence
Independence Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing