We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting sight but needs work”

Little House on the Prairie Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting sight but needs work”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I read the book Little House on the Prairie the night before my visit. This place is so remote - 2 1/2 hours from Wichita and 3 hrs from Kansas City! There should be more highway signs within 25-50 miles because the prairies and small roads can be so lonely. The buildings are good but they need more funds for better presentation and more information. Good thing I read the book the night before! A multimedia building would be nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It wasn't as bad as he feared”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This summer I plan to visit all of Laura's homesteads. This was the first stop on my sojourn. I LOVED IT!!! I am a teacher, so the one-room schoolhouse was a fun bonus. The little house is, well, little. Llots of neat treasures are tucked away in that little home. i sat on the bed, played with the little door latch, and imagined working in the little kitchen. I had a blast. I dragged my 22-year-old son along with me, and, despite himself, he enjoyed his visit too. He said it was well done. Something cool to me was the whispering sound the wind made in the tall prairie grass; I need to flip back through the first book to see if Laura references it. They have real bathrooms and a reasonably priced gift shop. Btw, there are all kinds of things the kids are allowed to touch. Admission is free; we left a donation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LisOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Stop for a Family”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you've read the "Little House..." books or watched the old television program, this is a must see. The site is on the original Ingalls homestead. Buildings to tour include a recreation of the Ingalls log cabin, and a school and a post office which have been moved to the site. With natural prairie to the north, you can get a real sense of what settlers came to from 1854 when Kansas territory was formed through to the post Civil War era when the Ingalls arrived. If you can plan your visit to one of the special events such as the Prairie Day in June or Lamplight tour in the fall, you get a bonus with very knowledgeable "living historians" on the site and special programming, The site administrator, Ms. Martin, is a historian and is extremely well versed in Kansas Territorial, Civil War, and Ingalls family history. She'll make your visit a memorable one!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Laura's house very nice”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A very amazing historical site. Definitely go there. It won't take to long, and is very cool, for men and women alike.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaplane224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meet the woman who lives the history”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

You will be blessed if you talk to the woman who is living and breathing the history of the Ingalls family. She knows it like she was an eye witness. She is the treasure you will find here if she is here when you come.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorgliderPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little House on the Prairie Museum also viewed

 

Been to Little House on the Prairie Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing