We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Marriott finally got on the ball” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hutchinson
Certificate of Excellence
Russell, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Marriott finally got on the ball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Marriott finally built a hotel in a place which sorely needed one. Hutchinson is not one of my more frequent destinations in the Sunflower State, but whenever I had to go to the area for events, I either had to make the long round trip (100 miles one way), or I had to keep going to Wichita to find a Marriott property. The Fairfield has solved this problem and has solved it quite nicely.

To the lady who is complaining about the hotel being overpriced--you get what you pay for, ma'am. Hutchinson has mostly two- and three-story hotels which are limited service, and the Fairfield has outdone all of the other properties by building a modern facility which caters to the needs of just about every traveler. It is very conveniently located to the Cosmosphere, Hutchinson Community College, the arena for the annual KSHSAA Class 3A state basketball tournament, Hutchinson High and Gowans Stadium. And the state fairgrounds are a short drive.

I would suggest to the management to improve the television selection. It's disappointing they have the HDTVs, yet don't have HD service. This has to be rectified. Other than that, can't find anything to complain about

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNSKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are proud of the beautiful new hotel that Marriott has provided the community and are glad to have you as one of our guests! I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to town.

Sincerely,
Lacey Depenbusch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
48
19
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this new hotel. Everything was clean and up to date. The beds were super comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We have previously stayed in another hotel in Hutchinson and had terrible experiences. We will definitely be staying here from now on. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Kelly,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites on your recent trip to Hutchinson. We're honored to receive great feedback from our guests and we look forward to your return trip to Hutchinson. Safe Travels!

Sincerely,
Lacey Depenbusch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the Fairfield back in the beginning of November while visiting my mother. At check in I was checked in by a girl who seemed like she had better things to do than be checking me in. After I took my luggage to my room I noticed that there wasn't an alarmclock in my room. I called the front desk to ask for a wake up call at 6am the next morning to take my mother in for surgery. I never received my wake up call and did not have an alarm clock so I woke up at 8am. I did not have time to get ready and left in a hurry. When I got back that evening I spoke to a young woman who claimed to be the manager. I told her about the events during my stay so far and why I was not happy with the front desk staff. I felt as though she was shrugging me off, and all I was getting from her was excuses. Not once did I receive an apology. I was completely put off by her and the rest of the staff's lack of professionalism. The rest of the hotel was nice looking enough until you got close. The hotel looks as though it was rushed. There was wallpaper peeling, scrapes on the walls, and nicks poorly covered in the breakfast area among other defects that were signs of shotty workmanship. As for location, it was a pain trying to enter the hotel parking lot when heading north on Lorraine after that long light, there were always a line of cars blocking the entrance. The Hampton my be older but they will definitely be getting my business from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeonessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello Aeonessa,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us and I truly apologize for the less than satisfactory service you received during your recent visit with us. We strive to give our guests a 'Perfect 10' stay and we clearly fell below your expectations. I would like to have an opportunity to visit with you directly regarding your stay with us so if you could reach out to me at the hotel directly I would appreciate it. We thank you again for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Hutchinson and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the excellent service that guests come to expect at a Marriott branded hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meade, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great experience staying in this new hotel. Very upscale looking which we enjoyed. Comfortable beds. Extra friendly employees and everyone seemed to be trained in their jobs. Would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to all ages. Breakfast well presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansascem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for this wonderful review! Our staff strives on presenting excellent customer service to our guests and they will be happy to hear your nice comments.

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites; we're here for your future accommodations on your next trip to Hutchinson, Kansas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love the place. What a nice hotel. I could not ask for anything better. I stay in hotel/motels at least 160 nights per year. This is a great addition to the community. I used to stay at another place here in Hutchinson, which I have given several horrible reviews. The other place can take their unpriority points and stick them. The Fairfield is clean, friendly, accommodating, and cares about the customers. I am in Hutchinson every other month for three nights. This will be my home in Hutch from now on.

Room Tip: Forget the other Hutchinson hotels and book your rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LubbockMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Mike! We are glad that you have chosen to stay at our hotel and we're happy to assist you with your future accommodations in Hutchinson. I look forward to visiting with you on your next visit -- Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a really slick looking, freshly constructed hotel that I absolutely recommend staying at. There were a few drawbacks I mentioned in my post-hotel survey that I want to include here. They're nowhere near dealbreakers, just want to note them.

Let's start with the good! Like I said, the aesthetics are A+. Really modern and bright colors in the rooms. And the furniture in the room is very nice and comfortable too. The staff is really friendly as well. I really appreciated the woman who checked me in calling up to see if everything was ok in my room. This place also has a pool and a workout room that all seem fresh and new. Definitely go here.

Onto the not-so-good. I wasn't in love withe the complimentary breakfast. It was just not that appetizing, aside from the cereal. I'm not a fan of the fluorescent lighting in the room. It's nice that' they're energy conscious, but it's not conducive to relaxation. What about the bed side lamp? Can they at least get a yellow colored fluorescent?

Next, the parking lot situation is poorly designed. I first pulled into the northern-most lot and parked my car. After 4 hours of driving, all I wanted to do was check in and relax. Instead I found I had to walk through wet grass and over gravel to get to an accessible door. I mentioned in my review to them that signage would help, as would some sort of walkway.

Finally, here is my LEAST favorite thing about the stay. The door to my room went all the way to the carpet. On night 2, when staff delivered my bill to my room, I was woken up at 4AM (FOUR A M) to someone trying and trying and trying to wedge it under there and not doing very well. It felt like this went on for minutes. Imagine waking up to hear, "scrape scrape scrape" coming from somewhere in your room.

At first it scared the hell out of me, like someone was there in the room with me. I finally had to get up and pull the rest of it through the door on my own. There has got to be an alternative to that form of delivery. Has nobody yet mentioned that this is terrible?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndon, kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Its a new hotel, so it was very clean of course, The staff was very nice and helpful. The beds were comfy and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast could have been better, but I dont pick hotels for the free breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hutchinson hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hutchinson
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn - Hutchinson
Hampton Inn - Hutchinson
#1 of 12 in Hutchinson
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hutchinson
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hutchinson
Days Inn & Suites Hutchinson
#5 of 12 in Hutchinson
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Hutchinson
Super 8 Hutchinson
#8 of 12 in Hutchinson
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson
Address: 1111 N Lorraine St, Hutchinson, KS 67501-6168
Location: United States > Kansas > Hutchinson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hutchinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Hutchinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing