We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home cooking.”

Dutch Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 120 Restaurants in Hutchinson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are an Amish inspired Restaurant that specializes in the best home-cooked food you will find in the region! Come out and try one of our many delicious homestyle meals for breakfast, lunch or dinner. But be sure to try one of our delicious slices of homemade pie for dessert...or special order one of our 72 different varieties of whole pies one day ahead!
Liberal, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great home cooking.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Met family here on a trip. Had awesome fried chicken, and pie. Tables and decorations were outdated but matched the theme which seemed to scream out - homecookin! biscuits were melt in your mouth, and the pie, oh the pie!! Good choices, good prices, great restaurant. might be an awesome place to eat breakfast!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalling0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchall, Owner at Dutch Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, it sounds like you had a delicious meal you enjoyed. I see you scored us highly in most categories but overall a "poor." If there is anything else we can improve upon please don't hesitate to contact me at kevin@dutchkitchenrestaurant.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Level Contributor
238 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for young and old”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great place to stop with the family if you like simple, homemade, healthy food. Wwhat a nice change from the fast food chains that kids clamor for when one is on the road. Take your family here and enjoy Amish/Mennonite community hospitality. They are some of the best cooks in the midwest. West side of Hutchinson on the road to Pratt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jksKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't get there often, but well worth the drive.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love their homemade breads, fried chicken, roast beef -- you can't go wrong if you're wanting real home-style cooking. I used to live closer & would go more frequently, but in my experience, the quality never varied -- always delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amish Hospitality”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of having breakfast at this restaurant on September 5, 2012. Hutchinson is well known for its Amish and Mininite cultures. The menu is as basic as any Denny's is but the outstanding part of this is the homemade wheat bread that is served with your meal. You get thick sliced and toasted bread with your eggs and hashbrowns. They also offer an array of fresh and homemade bakery goods that are totally awesome and yeasty good. The cinnamon buns are to die for and so are the long johns. They also offer coffee cakes like carrot cake and many other choices. The waitresses are dressed in traditional Amish attire and are friendly and full of smiles. Its really quite refreshing from the American standard of waitresses who call everyone "Honey" or "Babe"! It's just pure shy sweetness!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahititiare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flies optional”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Dutch Kitchen used to be a good place to eat but now is more like a dirty truck stop. The few things on the salad bar are very uninviting and swarming with flies and the food is certainly NOT home made any more. Don't bother stopping here

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchall, Owner at Dutch Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting our restaurant, and I apologize your experience was not satisfactory. I assure you we do everything possible to control the flies in our restaurant including approved bug lights and spraying every night with approved spray to control them. However, in our country setting the problem is even harder for us than other restaurants.

We also pride ourselves in our food and service. I assure you that our recipes remain the same from many years ago. We do still make all of our pies, soups, gravies, daily specials, and many other meals from scratch as well as real mashed potatoes.

I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing