We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astro Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astro Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hutchinson
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Since the first phone call Jay has been very nice. Very helpfull and willing to do whatever it takes to help make my stay better.He keeps rooms very clean and allways wants to know if you need anything. He has helped with many problems for me being new to town. His family always greats you with a smile and very polite.

Room Tip: Talk to Jay He will show you everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
4
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the motel was exactly what we were looking for. Clean room, friendly staff, and affordable rates. The location was great for walking to dinner.

If you are expecting the Ritz you may be disappointed, but for a nice room for a night the Astro delivered. Would stay again the next time we come through Hutchinson.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

June 23,2013 We came from Minnesota and Wisconsin to spend some time with a neice and grand daughter, this hotel was very nice. They were very hospitable, clean rooms and they called every morning to see if we needed anything. The pool was very nice and clean. They had coffee ready at all times!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, OK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and originally booked because of it's proximity to the AmTrack station. I had to stay an extra night because of a missed connection in Chicago, and that was no problem. The family who runs it are very friendly and helpful, and the place is spotless and well maintained. I much prefer these independents to the chains and will call them first next time I need to come to Hutch. The rooms and area are quiet too, something you don't always get in a downtown. You can walk to get nearly anything you might want, and the neighbourhood it's in is completely safe and well kept, and it's very easy to find coming off any highway...Having a computer in the lobby for guests to use was very helpful, and it has a printer/fax on it...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Isn't the Holiday Inn but it's got good service, friendly help, clean rooms. For an independant motel I would give it an A rating. Thank you to the mangement for the 10 month stay that we were there. I would recommend this motel and will be returning any time that we come to Hutchinson Ks. If you are a company with working crews for extended stays you will be happy with this motel . We had a kitchenette and everything worked and the mangement made our stay away from home very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked this hotel for the same reason a lot of you looking are thinking about; it's cheap and it has almost suspiciously good reviews. While it was not horrific (I did stay here four nights, didn't go running after walking in) I would not stay here again. I will try to paint a fair picture of my stay below.

I'll start off with the good; the rooms (I ended up in two rooms over my four nights) were both clean and had the basic things you expect at a hotel room (microwave, mini-fridge, beds, etc) and the staff were friendly. However, the rooms are extremely run down, with many chips in the shower tile, stains on the bathroom ceiling, etc. They are also very dated, if that matters to you. Up to this point I was still ok, I mean you get what you pay for right? Plus I'm not here to be wowed by the decor I'm here because I need a bed and a door..

Well the first issue came up the second day, the door part. I came home after my first night to find my door was ajar, fortunately all my stuff was still there but that was just good luck. At first I thought maybe I somehow forgot to lock it (which I knew wasn't true but I considered it all the same) until I tested it and found out if you jiggled the door knob from the outside just right you could disengage the lock. This is not only a safety concern when you are out but because the doors only have that one lock (no deadbolt on either room and the 'chain lock' was only in one) that's all you have. While this area of town is hardly shady it wasn't exactly the kind of place some people may be comfortable with poorly functional doors.

As for amenities.. There are few to none; there is a pool but it's outdoors so that's out in the cold months, their breakfast was the minimum you could have and still call it breakfast (a few tupperware containers of cereal, milk and coffee), and what came as a surprise is that there are no tissues. Yes, that box of tissues that is imbedded in that metal thing in the wall of every bathroom of every hotel you've ever stayed at is not here.. Or to be more accurate the metal thing in the wall is, but I was told they do not stock tissues (and you should get your own or use toilet paper). They also keep the heat off in the rooms when there is nobody in them (or at least did in both I stayed in, and I had a reservation, didn't just pop in) which is perhaps ecological but also means when you first arrive in the winter (as I did) the room is as cold if not colder than outside and you have to wait until the heater can take care of things (the heater itself, I should note, is very noisy at nights but does get the rooms warm)

Also, as a few people have mentioned, the parking lot is very, very tight. If you show up when it's crowded it will be extremely difficult to find a spot.

I could go into more nitpicking but those are the notable things. Now the question comes, should one be surprised when they pick the cheapest joint in town that it isn't the Ritz.. I think 'no', but at the same time you are getting so much more for literally a few more dollars. Other people who stayed in town the same time I did for the event we were all at (Nursing school) described their rooms which were in some cases less than five dollars more as being much, much nicer with more amenities.

It should be noted I'm a college student, and accustomed to staying in less than ideal surroundings, but let me just outline quickly what I got for less than ten dollars more a night in Wichita before coming into town:

-A nice room that was properly heated with a nice heater that wasn't overly loud
-Proper shampoo, soap, tissues, etc that you expect to be in a hotel room
-A pool, exercise room, hot tub, etc (though to be fair I didn't use any of them but I was only there one night)
-A secure building with card key locks (this one uses old fashioned 'key' keys) with secure doors and a deadbolt
-A breakfast that included cereal, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, fruit, pastries, coffee, milk, juice, etc

These were the situations described at the other hotels in town too (in fact one has a soup and nacho bar). Yes, they cost more, but in many cases were are literally talking five, maybe ten more dollars a night and I think it's important to consider what you are getting for that small amount extra.

In short, I do understand the concept of getting what you pay for; that, combined with the fact that the rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant is what kept this from being a one star (or I guess green circle thing) review. However, unless you really need to save the small amount of difference between this hotel and the other options, I strongly recommend spending the extra few bucks, it'll be a much nicer stay, heck you'll probably make up the difference on the cost of breakfast alone.

Room Tip: Make sure to test your door lock before settling down cause there are no deadbolts and at least one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed labor day weekend and had a blast. We didn't have reservations, just walked up and inquired about rates and they were kind enough to let us view room before deciding. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with micro and fridge. No noise problems. Only negatives to report are the lack of parking and pool was closed. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hutchinson hotels
1.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn - Hutchinson
Hampton Inn - Hutchinson
#1 of 12 in Hutchinson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hutchinson
Super 8 Hutchinson
#7 of 12 in Hutchinson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hutchinson
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hutchinson
Days Inn & Suites Hutchinson
#5 of 12 in Hutchinson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Host Hutchinson
Budget Host Hutchinson
#9 of 12 in Hutchinson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Motel

Property: Astro Motel
Address: 15 E 4th Ave, Hutchinson, KS 67501-6912
Location: United States > Kansas > Hutchinson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hutchinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Astro Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the Astro Motel is located in the heart of Downtown Hutchinson, providing quick and easy access to all of Hutchinson's attractions. We accept AAA discounts and offer commercial and weekly rates. And of course, offer friendly service 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Astro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing