We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place for a group event.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Water's Edge

Water's Edge
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Hesston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a group event.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had to travel to Hesston to bury our dad and needed a place to have a meal after the service. The Water's Edge came highly recommended. The manager Tom was so accommodating and friendly and worked with us on the price. The food was home cooked and of the highest quality. The fried chicken buffet was perfect for us. They kept the food fresh and hot and there was plenty of it even though they had a full house. We even loved the side dishes. Tom and his wife served us our desserts: homemade ice cream, two kinds. The service throughout the evening was superb, friendly and caring. We felt like we were welcomed into their home. They enjoyed hearing us remember our dad and had artwork depicting family themes. I would love to go back for breakfast and lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galva, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homestyle food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The buffet for Sunday Lunch caters to a slightly older clientele or family groups. Decent food, but not my style.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-rated!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Do not understand draw! I guess it's the only place a family can have a salad bar or variety on a menu in Hesston.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Check the schedule”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

One of the quirky things about this restaurant is that they are open on an irregular schedule and don't necessarily serve a full menu during those times. So if you go, be sure and check their website beforehand. The Water's Edge is part of a wellness center in a retirement community. The dining room is bright, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking a small pond. On my most recent visit, I had grilled Angus hamburger which was very tasty. But the "fresh" fruit appeared to have been around the block a bit. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. I regret that I had to pass up the homemade ice cream!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The absolute best buffet I have ever been to...amazing”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We went for Sunday brunch. Homemade everything including pie and homemade ice cream. Delicious. The chef came by our table, made us feel like old friends...guests in his home. The waffles and omelets were fabulous. The entrees were unbelievable. Large shrimp, smoked brisket, grilled pork chops were all just great. The fried chicken was just like grandma's. The best salad bar I have ever seen, everything super fresh and the potato salad was incredible. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge also viewed

 

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing