We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop on the long trip thru Kansas”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Everything was clean, the bed very good, and it was quiet. First impressions were that the place looked quite old upon driving up to the motel. That impression quickly changed when we saw that it was clean, the carpet on the stairs, hallways and in the room was in very good condition and room was of reasonable size with microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast was the best of our two week trip--good coffee and orange juice and great sausage links. The weak areas were the poor bathroom lighting and low water pressure in the shower. The AC worked were well, and was of a constant level, not turning completely off when it cycled, as some units do. AC units that cycle on and off can disturb ones sleep.

Room Tip: We selected, and received, a second floor room, to avoid having possible noise from people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thanks for the thorough review of our hotel. Reviews like yours are very helpful for TripAdvisor readers...and they help direct new clientele to us. Yes, you're right about our breakfast. We have recieved high praise about our breakfast from most of our customers.

We hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 271 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived after midnight and the desk clerk was very helpful. They did not have any single king rooms left for the night, but he upgraded us to a "suite" at no charge. The room was extremely outdated and had a door leading to the outside which reminded me of an old horror movie. Despite that, the bed was pretty comfortable and we still got a good night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was a joke. The common area was so small we had to wait until every single person moved out of the way to even get to the food.. only to discover it was empty or cold. There were no open tables so we brought stuff back to the room. This was an ok place to stay for some rest, but if you're looking for more move on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We're glad you had good night sleep at our hotel. Just for your information only few rooms (less than 20%) have outside door. All other rooms have inside door that you have to walk through the interior corridor to get to the room. I am not sure what you were expecting in breakfast but lot of our customer have loved our breakfast selection. We have scramble eggs patty, sausage links, fresh waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, english muffins, wheat bread, two kinds of cereals, oatmeal, orange juice, milk , hot chocolate, coffee, tea,etc. Yes our breakfast room is not that big but you can always take it to the room if you want.

We hope that, the next time you come, we'll do everything just right in order to earn an "excellent" rating rather than "average." Thank you again for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Parking was terrible. Room smelled funny. Ice machine was broken. Found a bug on the bed in the morning. Not worth the money at all. Better off staying at a nicer hotel even if it is more expensive. Breakfast was so so and not worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room WITHOUT bed bugs. Parking is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

We are very sorry that our facility did not meet your needs. Please give us a call and ask to be connected with the general manager. We'd love to speak with you and attempt to make things right. Perhaps we can get you set up with one of the other Choice Hotel locations in the area the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I agree with most of what is said in the positive reviews of this hotel but do remember that this is still a budget hotel! The room was clean and it was obvious that care had been taken during renovation to put in new carpet, install a modern television, a solid wifi system, and to update the bathroom. The water pressure in the shower was great! The staff were very friendly and helpful both upon check in and throughout my stay. The hotel was well maintained and clean and my king room was equipped with both a microwave and a refrigerator. Still, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, at least for myself. I could definitely feel the coils through the thin mattress pad that was in place. Based on what I observed, however, they were obviously in the process of replacing the mattresses so if you're planning a stay some time after the date of this review you should be fine. Some of the towels were a little threadbare and some of the linens appeared well past their prime. Each room has a small, wall unit for A/C which was a little noisy for my taste. Still, for the price you're paying this is clearly one of the better options in Hays, especially if, like most, you're only staying for a night as you make your drive along I-70. One other item--no elevator is located at this hotel, at least none that I could find, so plan on carrying your stuff if you end up on the 2nd floor. If this isn't an option for you, be sure to reserve an 'accessible' room--you should end up on the first floor with both interior and exterior entrances.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve an accessible room if you are in a position where carrying your luggage up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 847brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

We really appreciate your detailed review of our hotel. As you know we are in process of putting new beds - most of our room already has new bed. And yes we do not have an elevator thats why we request all our future guests to call ahead and ask for ground floor room if anyone have problem taking stairs. We hope that, the next time you come, we'll do everything just right in order to earn an "excellent" rating rather than "average." Thank you again for sharing your experience with everyone here on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The econo lodge was very cheap, clean and staff was extremely helpful and generous. They gave us a room upon arrival, room was newly renovated and very clean. Bathroom and showers worked great. I recommend staying here for anyone passing through Hays!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneil137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please come back and visit us again.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to all the travellers reading this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel in Hays is very well managed, clean, and newly renovated. The rooms are neat, very clean, and the furnishings and fixtures are above average for this class of hotel. The manager is very kind and considerate. I would recommend it to anyone on a trip through Kansas. There are lots of stores and restaurants, and the town of Hays is charming and quaint if you have time to drive a few miles into town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ctbeachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We're glad you had a pleasant stay, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Econo Lodge twice recently on a trip to Colorado. We stayed on our way to and from our stay in Colorado as we traveled I 70 through Kansas. Both stays were great....in fact, on our 2nd stay, Sean, the manager upgraded our room, even though we arrived late. The beds were very comfortable, shower good and breakfast quite nice with waffles, sausage, scrambled egg patties, Danish, English muffins, toast, cereal and good coffee. If we travel this way again, we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thanks for your high praise of our hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed your room and the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3503 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-1952 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hays
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hays
#5 Business Hotel in Hays
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing