We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Got in late in the evening. Thrilled to see a few dining choices within walking distance of hotel. Front desk was friendly and lobby comfortable and inviting. Hotel is pet friendly, but didn't smell like pets stayed there. Clean room and very comfy bed. There is a field in back of hotel to take your dog to potty. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank notanokieever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, and writing a review here on tripadvisor. We hope you'll be back to see us the next time you're in Hays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    96
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
80
71
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Summer road trip and traveling on a budget along with our golden retriever. Traveling with a pet definitely limits room choices. Previously stayed at a Motel 6 in Tulsa that was just awful. This was in the same price range and undoubtedly several notches above. Manager is sharp and property is well maintained. Room equipped with small fridge (no freezer) and microwave. Woke up to the parking lot packed yet we didn't experience any of the associated noise factor problems. Did not stay for their breakfast. Would highly recommend if just traveling through and cost conscious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank coyotewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear coyotewest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We're glad you had a pleasant stay, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a great short stay. The General Manager, Sean Patel, was very nice and helpful, as was all of the staff! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Will definitely stay again. This might sound silly, but I really liked that the lamps in the room had an electric outlet in the base of the lamp. I didn't have to search for one behind the bed to plug in our computers and phone. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Kathy F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were traveling East and looked up the reviews for the Econo Lodge. I felt it was a great little place to spend the night. The room was just perfect. Very clean and quiet. I would stay here again! I didn't get a chance to try the breakfast, but it looked like it came with quite a few options. The front desk people were exceptionally nice too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please come back and visit us again. Oh yes do not miss our breakfast on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place was a great value. The room seemed to be brand new. The only complaint I have about the room is that my fridge was not working and the AC took a long time to cool the room and was really loud. The breakfast could also use some work- I skipped this altogether. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nintola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at EconoLodge - Hays,KS . We greatly value your feedback and appreciate the time you took to provide it. I will make sure with my housekeeping staff to check if all the appliances are plugged in and working. We will certainly take a look at our Air Conditioning unit to see if its working properly. We greatly appreiciate that you brought this up to our attention! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, reasonable rates, nice comfortable beds. Older hotel has been redone. Just traveling thru area with son and family. Hot breakfast with some fruits and protein too! Breakfast was constantly restocked and with 3 children that was nice. Will return if back in area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for posting the review about EconoLodge - Hays, KS. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We always look for ways to improve and our guest feedback is the best source in helping us better ourselves. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed outbound on vacation trip. booked thru booking service. Stayed again coming back because we were passing thru Hays,Ks on way home and needed a room. Same price. Cleanand neat, In process of re- furb. Doing good job. Breakfast good. Owners pleasant.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: upstair refurb complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GERALD Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I want to personally thank you for the great review for our hotel. It's very satisfying to hear when a guest sees and appreciates the hard work our staff does to assure guest satisfaction. Thanks again for staying with us on your way home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.3 mi away
Best Western Butterfield Inn
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.8 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 13 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3503 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-1952 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hays
#5 Business Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing