We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Hays
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hotel review”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was a clean and friendly motel. The breakfast was adequate, in a clean space. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone travelling through , whether just for overnight or several days stay. It is handy to all restaurants or stores. The management personnel are friendly and accomadating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about EconoLodge - Hays. We work very hard to make our guest feel comfortable and relaxed whether you are staying overnight or multiple nights. Again thanks for recommending our hotel to other travellers who are reading this review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
75
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience staying and when we travel again we will be sure to stay here, it was clean and warm feeling. Thank you so very much. All of the other motels were way out of range as far as cost, we were so glad we found this lovely motel

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing comments about EconoLodge - Hays ! It truly makes us feel good to serve our guest and make sure your stay is above and beyond your expectations. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Hays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TALALA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was the first time I had stayed at an Econo Lodge in years. Their rates were the cheapest and I decided to give them a try. The room was comfortable and the breakfast selection was very good (waffles, eggs, sausage, pastry, cereal). Quiet and the hotel is easy access off of I-70. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are interior rooms (south side opens to the exterior). For those worried abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your great comments ! We are very pleased that you have chosen EconoLodge in Hays for your travel. I would also like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. Also the additional room tip was like icing on your great comments. This was the first time you have chosen us and I hope you can stay with us again in the future when your travel brings you by Hays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairplay, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This motel is older than some, but the basic service and accommodations make it a super value. Hot breakfast isn't gourmet, but it served to get us going down the road. The room was small but clean and the desk clerk was a charming young college student who was eager to please. We'd recommend it for the traveler looking for a clean, basic room right in the middle of many choices of restaurants and an easy access back to the Interstate. We'd stop here again.

Room Tip: not the most soundproof place, so you might want to ask for a room apart if there are a number of gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your stay review at our hotel. As you know everyone is looking for a "value" doesn't matter if they stays in economical hotel or luxurious hotel. We are working continuously to make sure each of our guests recieves the best value. We are always happy to hear that we have succeeded in providing a pleasant and comfortable stay to our guests! I will surely pass your compliments to my team. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Hays as you can expect "super value" from our establishment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

2nd time to stay here. Probably the best value in Hays. Not the nicest or newest, but the best price for what you get. Ask for a room that has been renovated for nicer beds. The bathrooms are small but for the price it's fine for us. The breakfast has hot items like biscuits and gravy or eggs and sausage (plus a waffle iron station).

The staff are friendly and helpful. Just remember this is not a new place, but at about half the price of the newer places in Hays, I'm fine with that as I'm only really sleeping here and not conducting business during my stays. The WiFi did work very well and allowed me to do online work without issues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazierm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detail review about our hotel. This will give a little idea to our future guests what to expect from our hotel. We strive to make every guest's stay the best that it can be! I am happy to hear that each of our department was able to meet your needs and provide great service to ensure that your stay be wonderful! Thank you for choosing to stay with us again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Price was comparable to other Choice hotels we have stayed in but the property was a little rough. Beds were uncomfortable. Bathroom was cramped and had little counter space. Breakfast was comparable and good. Staff was good and considerate. I would not rule it out but would look around in the future for a better value in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainsmegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to fill out an online survey. Your opinion and views are important and valuable to us. We will take into consideration all of your feedbacks and we apologize for the inconvenience you had while staying at our establishment. I would also like to thank you for commenting on our breakfast and staff service and we will try our best to give you the best value for money on your next stay. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you travel thru Kansas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a great stay at Econolodge in Hays. We had reservation at other hotel in Hays where we usually stay but we had very bad experience at that hotel and decided to check out of that hotel and stayed at Econolodge. Our room was clean and beds were comfortable. Very good breakfast and morning clerk keep stocking items that were running low. Good service and overall best value. We found a new hotel in Hays now. This will be the hotel we will stay now as we stay in Hays about 4 times a year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oellrich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
What a nice review of our hotel ! We are unique as a budget hotel and do offer complimentary hot breakfast with scramble egg patties, sausage links, fresh waffles, fresh fruit and lot of other items in our breakfast buffet. Your comments will be helpful to future guests seeking excellent service, clean rooms & good breakfast with affordable rate. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.3 mi away
Best Western Butterfield Inn
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.8 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 13 in Hays
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3503 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-1952 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hays
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hays
#5 Business Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing