We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Hays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Hays
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently while traveling on I-70. It is a typical Fairfield property. Our room was on the 3rd floor and quiet. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We did not use the exercise room or pool. Breakfast was provided in the lobby, but we skipped it. The staff that checked us in and out were friendly. It's not fancy, but a good place to nice a good night's sleep while traveling on I-70.

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmotley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
61
30
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ASSARIA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were in Hays for a wedding and spent two nights. Nick is an excellent desk clerk. We asked to pay for other guests' rooms and he handled the transactions quickly. We had trouble reading our statement and he very patiently explained the transactions.

Our room was 111. It was clean and comfortable. We did have noise overhead when a team of volleyball players arrived but that calmed quickly. The toilet handle stuck - the stool would continue to run - until we figured out to lift the handle. Our daughter had room 103. The air/heater unit was loud when it started and seemed to start and stop often; their second night they simple left it turned off. Room 211 however was not comfortable for another of our group. The drains ran from the 3rd floor down the wall right at their heads. Any time water ran, it sounded like a rain storm in their room. I would avoid that room.

Breakfast was good, the room was brightly lit and comfortable. We did not use the pool.

Room Tip: 3rd floor for quiet - 1st floor for easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourMoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond, oklahoma
Level Contributor
295 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent one night here and when entering our room and it smelled of cigarette smoke, they promptly gave us another one down the hall. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices and there is a Walmart close by, within walking distance for those things you have forgotten to pack!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmondite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn Hays, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are so glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us in Hays, KS and thank you for your response! We appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests and take all comments to heart, they are what help us improve. We are a non-smoking property and currently investigating the smoke smell issue. Thank you for your cooperation with us. We hope to see you again next time you come through Hays and wish you safe travels in your upcoming trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My Wife and I (seniors) checked into the fairfield inn in Hays Kansas along highway 70 on Friday night after a long day on the road. We had tried two other hotels in the area and found them booked full. The only thing that was the least bit professional about this hotel was the employees. These employees were students from the local college and they did their jobs very well and professionally. The room we were assigned smelled of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The sheets did not feel or look as though they had been washed. The curtains hung at angles and smelled musty. Just as we went to bet someone upstairs ran water and it was "very" loud in the wall beside our bed. The refridgerator icemaker was running water and I had to get out of bed and unplug it to stop the noise. The next morning we found a breakfast that we found it wiser to pass on. The coffee wasn't bad and again the day, desk people were the only thing giving this hotel any class at all. I do not recommend this fairfield inn for any travelers.

Room Tip: Plan your trip to not stop here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hays hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were tired travelers and we almost always choose a Marriott property because we can trust their reputation, this one was no exception. Good bed, good breakfast, pleasant staff, and even kittens to greet us. I did worry about the kittens that had been abandoned, but was told they were been looked after. We got a great recommendation for dinner and walked to the restaurant. Someone mentioned the towels, I agree it is time for new ones, but not a big deal. They offered gym and pool, but we didn't use them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katnicHoover_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am on the road 3 weeks out of the month so having a comfortable, clean, quiet room is a must. Fairfield Inn in Hays did not fail to deliver on these aspects. Looking forward to the new beds they will be installing soon as well as the automatic front door.

The staff is friendly and helpful on local places to eat and things to do in Hays. Looking forward to my return stays over the next few months.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MStroh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Front desk acts like I'm keeping them from something as I ask about places to eat. Really abrupt and he goes back to the Internet. Phone doesn't work, iron spits rust and Internet is horrible. I call down, surprise. They'll fix it tomorrow. Ill be gone tomorrow. Think it'll be fixed?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Field T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Hays

Property: Fairfield Inn Hays
Address: 377 W Mopar Dr, Hays, KS 67601-9479
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Hays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Fairfield Hays
Hays Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing