We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy & Loud”
Review of Days Inn Hays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Hays
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filthy & Loud”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

It was cheap and it accommodated our pets, those are the only two good things about this place. The staff was friendly, but that doesn't do much if the walls are paper thin, and the dirt is everywhere. Corners, moulding, etc.. They need to do a deep clean of the place, at least once a month. I felt dirty and unsafe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank She G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are sorry you found your stay with us to be unsatisfactory. We strive to keep rooms clean and up to date at our hotel. Currently we are undergoing major changes with updating rooms and making them more pleasing to the eye. Its pleasing to hear you found our staff to be friendly and you were able to bring your pet along. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    191
    134
    74
    59
See reviews for
274
127
70
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Seriously, this room smelled like an ashtray...and it was a "non-smoking" room. We asked to moved to another room, but there were no others. I rated this "poor" and not "terrible" only because we stayed there on 2 different occasions and the first stay was fine. (room 109: fine, room 225- yuck!!!) Went decided to go ahead and book a room on our return trip....mistake! This was quite possibly one of the most miserable rooms I have ever slept in. Forget free breakfast. If this is how they maintain a room I cringe to think how the food might be handled. The good thing about the room is you can bring your dog....she didn't seem to mind the smell. Oh, they also have a place to "clean you birds". Be careful not to clean them in your room...it's a $35 fine. ;)
Will look elsewhere for our next trip across Kansas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristiannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is important to us. We are currently doing renovations throughout the hotel. Please keep in mind our front desk staff is very accommodating, and if anything is brought to their attention, changes can be made to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hays hotels

Neligh
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Good value. The pet fee is very reasonable . Rooms clean. Staff makes the pet feel welcome by giving the pet rules and a treat and a bag for poop patrol. And places receptacles close by so that pet owners are more likely to clean up after pet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review over our hotel. We appreciate the kind words on how we handle our pets here at the Days Inn. We encourage everyone to pickup after their pets to allow for a cleaner environment. Also we like to not only make our customers feel welcome but as you said our pets as well. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Best Western Butterfield Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hays

Property: Days Inn Hays
Address: 3205 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-1934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hays 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn of Hays offers a relaxing nights stay surrounded by a taste of the Old West! We are conveniently located just off I-70, offering easy access to area shopping and dining. Visit old Fort Hays, Sternberg Museum and other historical sites including a live buffalo herd in Frontier Park. Enjoy the Beauty and Hospitality of the Great Plains! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Hays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Hays Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing