We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the old Dillon's was....”

Gutch's Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 90 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where the old Dillon's was....”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the frist place I have eaten in Hays and lack a comparison to local fair. My waitress was wonderful, fast, friendly, and on the ball; in short Morgan was great. The food was good. The fried mushrooms were tasty done to perfection. The Cesar salad was poor at best, the lettuce was sour, brown, and discolored. The pizzas were good a nice thin crust that is crispy. Topping were fresh and the correct amount were on the pie.

However if you are thinking it no place like home you are correct. Realky just a nice good pizza place. Not as outstanding as other ratings make it seem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryCurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and good service!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I dined at Gutch;s this weekend and the food was very good. What is important to me is service and I must say the service was good as well. Good place for casual dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Errol_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed..”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've heard pretty good things about this resturant so we decided to try it, and we were greatly disappointed. The service was pretty poor, we were the only table she had and all of us were out of water for most of the night, and she was nowhere to be found. When we did finally get our food it was so salty that we wondered if someone accidently dropped the salt bottle in it. When the waitress did finally appear again she started to clear the table before we were finished. Overall we're not sure if we'll be giving this place a second chance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariemarie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, a place you can relax and visit with friends over a good meal”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have never eaten bad food at Gutch's, and I have always received good service. I love their wood fired pizzas and their burgers. Be on the lookout for their specials because those are delicious as well. Prices are reasonable. This is a welcoming eatery to meet friends for a good meal and a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great pizza”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had the margarita pizza and it was wonderful. All the food at the table looked and tasted great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gutch's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gutch's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing