We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak Easy On/Off”

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Steak Easy On/Off”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Was traveling down the road with my adult son and wanted to treat him to a nice restaurant instead of fast food. Looked at the reviews and thought we would try. I had the ribeye medium rare and my son had the prime rib medium. My steak was outstanding along with the mash potato and steamed brocolli. My son thoroughly enjoyed his prime, though I tried a piece and it was simply ok. Along with two draft Fat Tires, which were delicious, the total was under $60 with tax and tip. And out we went down the road to the next stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    82
    54
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
621 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The desk clerk at our hotel suggested this place and described it as an upscale Applebee's. Now there's an oxymoron for you. The food was okay, especially the Jack Daniels steak. But if you were dropped in blindfolded you could be in any chain steakhouse anywhere in the country. Just saying.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant resembles any of the Lone Star Steakhouse Restaurants. Food is consistently good, service is prompt, and they have daily specials, including cocktails, so you know what to expect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leave_no_trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
391 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Whiskey Creek Hays”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way through. Just off I-70 south on Hwy 183, convenient to gas stations and hotels. We were seated right away in the bar area. Our server was very attentive and made sure we had water and bread before our meal arrived. She never let our glasses get below half! The food was excellent! I had the filet and my husband had the Prime Rib. The loaded baked potato was delicious! Price was reasonable for a steak place. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superior Service, Excellent Food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fast friendly service, amazing food, great atmosphere for anyone! Probably the best steak I've ever had! Half price appetizers are awesome too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing