We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down hill slide.”
Review of Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe - CLOSED

Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hays, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Down hill slide.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ordered lunch to go from Carlos O'Kelly's today. The food was not hot and they were just finishing preparing it as I picked it up. Furthermore, the guacamole that was on top of the Chimichunga was NOT fresh. If fact, it was more brown than green. Very disappointed. The staff was friendly when I picked the food up, so that was the only plus that I can give them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go across the street to El Dos”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Typical corporate microwave food with poor service. Went here because we had some coupons but we'd of been better off to toss them. We won't go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is not great but no bad. If you are looking for average food then this is the place for you. Did appreciate the gluten free menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marz719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved our servers s enjoyed talking with him and his trainee after our meal. Great food and a lot of it! Margarita was good, they were having specials on just about everything, so our meal was very reasonable. Wish we had one in Alabama! !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katnicHoover_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the food was good BUT”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our waiter had driping nose with visiable drips and a lot of sniffing going on. The waiter was tring hard but almost hit memeber of our group in head with tray. The food was good. But we had to wait approx 20 mins to get ticket because new waiter was having problem with computer. The manager was standing around visiting with other staff never made table rounds, didnt help or guide new staff and didnt seemed bothered when we voiced a complaint. Our waiter had mentioned refunded or discount for wait then saide no. Manage did not honor either and had no interest in trying to mend problem

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar_MarClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing