We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The place is going Down hill.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Hays
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place is going Down hill.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family went there for my birthday dinner. They were pretty slow, slower than usual. We ordered our food then we waited. The table across from us had got there about ten minutes after us. They got they're food before us, no big deal, happens all the time. Finally we get our food. The steak was cold, the mashed tatters were cold, the steamed vegetables smelled rotten and they too were cold. I never complain about my food (that's my wifes job lol) . I couldn't eat it. The smell was making me sick. We didn't haft to pay, which i wouldn't anyway. They need to get back in the game. WE Have always gone there. Not anymore!

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toddonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    21
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yummy and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great food.. better than others I have been too and the server was very friendly and fast. The even cooked my steak to the perfect medium rare.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcwifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch and the food was great and customer service the best I have seen in along time Thank You Ceanna for your great service!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aldrichmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoisington, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cold in alot of ways”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If people didn't give us gift cards every year I wouldn't go back once a year. The heat was turned down so far you had to wear a coat. Four of us went and not one of us care to go back. I would rather eat a fast food burger by far and I don't do that very often. Alot of people must like it, seems like there are always quite a few vehicles there. Sure not my cup of tea. Bar drinks terrible, took 25 minutes to try to make a martini special (it took two of them to try to make it and they poured out one and served the other one) not good. I don't like to complain but I've been there numerous times and never been impressed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great meal and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We both ordered our favorite, the Bourbon Street Steak and it lived up to our expectations! (Love how the plate is sizzling as it arrives at our table!) The waitress was very attentive, making sure our drinks were always filled. A great meal at a great restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iowadux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing